Mac Mini updated?

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
mac mini(2011) 2.3ghz dual-core intel i5 8GB ram 120GB SSD, 16GB wi-fi iPad Air 2, 16GB iPhone 5
did this just get updated with a price drop or am i seeing things? I may need to order one today.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
They were updated but I did not see a price drop but might have overlooked that part.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
136
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Turkey
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
I was looking for info about Yosemite availability (Can't download yet in my country), and I saw that their price dropped and they are updated. I can't give you any resources to this, though. So I'm not sure if it's true.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I guess the lowest end model has gone down in price but look at the specs! 4GB RAM 1.4 Ghz CPU? 4GB trust me is not enough for Yosemite if you want to do more than 1-2 things at the same time.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
136
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Turkey
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
Uh... I've got 4 GB of RAM in my Macbook Air and I was looking forward to updating it to Yosemite. Everywhere it says "2 GB will run it, but you'd better have 4 GB".
But I think you're talking out of your experience?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Trust me, Apples Minimum is not enough unless you area a casual user. I run out all the time with even Mavericks and 4GB RAm. Fresh install. Nothing wrong with the Mac in any way. Safari and Mail and messages I open Activity Monitor and all RAM is used up.

Many here on the forums have seen the same thing with only 4GB and either Mavericks or Yosemite!
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
136
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Turkey
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
If Mavericks and Yosemite are close in terms of RAM usage, I'll probably be okay.

It is always nearly totally used, but I don't experience any problems. No performance drops, no lags etc.

I use Chrome, and some Chrome helper activities take lots of memory. There are many activities and all of them take between 100 MB and 20 MB. I just counted 7.

But if we let everything aside, I think I have the opportunity to reverse back to Mavericks any time I want, right?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,829
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
But if we let everything aside, I think I have the opportunity to reverse back to Mavericks any time I want, right?

Only if you made a clone of your installation of Mavericks prior to updating to Yosemite. You can do that with either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
136
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Turkey
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
Only if you made a clone of your installation of Mavericks prior to updating to Yosemite. You can do that with either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper.

In the beta pages, it says you can roll back just by your Time Machine backup. Is this only for the beta?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,829
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Time Machine backups are not bootable.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
136
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Turkey
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
I can't find the page where it said you can use your backups to roll back to Mavericks, but I swear I saw that lol.
Apparently, I would have to erase my disk and then use Mavericks installer to get back to it. Then my Mavericks Time Machine backups would be useful.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,829
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
That's correct.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top