Mac Mini demands a restart

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new here to the Forum and it looks like a great place to get help on Mac issues. I'm also new to the world of Apple. Windows finally drove me round the bend and I just purchased a new Mac Mini.

The first thing I tried after setting up the Mini is doing a Time Machine backup to a USB drive I had. I formatted (erased) the drive then started the backup. After about 6Gb out of 9Gb, I got a black overlay over the whole screen saying I must restart my computer. This happened twice before I gave up on the backup and disconnected the drive. That was yesterday. Today while browsing without any peripherals connected I got the same black, semi-transparent screen saying I had to restart.

Does anyone have any idea what is going on?

Thanks!

Kevin H.

Reaction score
Sometimes hardware issues cause the restart window to appear. I had a bad USB hub do it...also a SCSI card. Something in the system messed up when you did the backup HD thing. I would boot with the system disc and repair permissions. Even better you should have OnyX installed to to do system repairs.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Besides what MacSK asked, did you do any upgrades to the Mini? Any new RAM or is it like out of the box? Since it's doing it with the USB drive not attached, that does not sound good.

OP
K
Reaction score
MacSK: I guess a system disk does not come with the Mini. SW is pre-installed. There is a disk repair button in the Disk Utilities in Finder. I'll try running that on the HD.

Dtravis7: Yep, right out of the box. It does not sound good, as you say. Grrrr.

If this persists over the next few days, I'll take advantage of the free short term Customer Service you get with a new Mac and see if Apple has any ideas.

Thanks for the replies.

Kevin H.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs