Mac Finder 3 Things I Wanted To Do

Reaction score
Hi All

I recently joined this forum and have learnt a lot reading its Posts.

I recently bought a MacBook Pro and am in the process of slowly learning the operating system and Apps.

I like to use a mouse or the Trackpad as much as i can.

So as a beginner i open "Finder" and play around creating Folders and copying and pasting files.

By Default Finder opens the Folder Recent

I wanted it to open a different folder

I want 2 Windows to Show

I want to Cut and Paste (Move) a file

With 2 Windows Open

Cheers

Last edited:

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
By Default Finder opens the Folder Recent

I wanted it to open a different folder

A warm welcome to Mac-Forums.

No problem: Open Finder. Click on the Finder icon in the top menu bar, far left next to the Apple icon . From the drop down, choose Preferences.

You are now in Finder Preferences (each app on the Mac has its own Preferences).

In the little window that opens, Click on General. At the very bottom, "New Finder windows show" - use the up/down arrowheads to select your choice. In my example, I've chosen Documents, which means that Finder always open Documents when clicked.

S1.jpg

You can choose something else if you wish.

Ian

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
To change what Finder open, select Finder in the Menu Bar. Then select Preferences, on the General tab see "New Finder Windows show". There you can choose any folder you want.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
I want 2 Windows to Show

Do you mean 2 Finder Windows?

If so, Open Finder. A window appears. Now Click on File > New Finder Window.