Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Stay away from clean my mac. Stick with OnyX

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14
Hi Rayben - OnyX from Titanium Software has been recommended on this forum for years and is free - I've been using the app since 2013; of course, the developer releases apps that are specific to the macOS versions - OTOH, many of the so-called 'Mac Cleaners' of the past have not been recommended here and even condemned, but opinions have varied depending on the app under discussion and the poster.

Now, I've never used a 'cleaner' other than OnyX, so cannot offer an opinion as to what you mean is 'better', e.g. does the app do a decent job in removing 'detritus' from your Mac computer w/o causing damage and resource hogging?

Looking at this review from last month, CleanMYMac X's newest version gleamed great comments - now I don't know the reviewer nor the website (i.e. is the software company providing support?) - also, although a free trial is offered, the cost is $35/one computer use, so an important consideration for many since OnyX is free. Additionally, this app appears in Apple's App Store - is that a recommendation and was the program well tested by Apple, don't know?

SO, I'll be quite curious to see what our long term posters put up regarding your question. Dave :)
Screen Shot 2020-10-10 at 11.22.57 AM.png

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
@rayben

I completely agree with Dave.

If you are well versed in the intricacies of computers and can handle complex apps, then the "new" CleanMyMac X" is worth considering despite the cost. It is powerful but requires a fairly intimate knowledge of the workings of a Mac.