lots of newbie Q's

Reaction score
hi im new to ipods and i have a heap of questions.
sorry if youve heard them before, i did try looking for answers first.
i just bought my mother a 30gb vid ipod and synced it to my macbook itunes library. she has a PC at work and a PC laptop at home. will she be able to connect to all 3 and will she have to format it at all?
if i have to authourise my computer will it report any music files that werent created on my macbook (i went travelling for a year so i converted my cds on lots of computers around the world to put on my iriver )?
if in the future i decide to get an ipod myself will i be able to connect both ipods to my macbook?
whats the best way to rip our dvds so she can view them on her ipod?
if i remove music from my itunes to save space and then reconnect her ipod will it remove the files from her ipod too?
thanks
p.

Reaction score
i just bought my mother a 30gb vid ipod and synced it to my macbook itunes library. she has a PC at work and a PC laptop at home. will she be able to connect to all 3 and will she have to format it at all?

I suggest formatting the iPod on your mothers laptop and it will then be useable with all 3 computers, but don't allow the Mac to sync with the iPod when it connects or you will lose all the music stored on the iPod.

if i have to authourise my computer will it report any music files that werent created on my macbook (i went travelling for a year so i converted my cds on lots of computers around the world to put on my iriver )?

I'm not entirely sure about this question, sorry. But if I was to hazard a guess, I'd say that you would only have problems with iTune Store purchases and not with any converted music as long as the format is supported.

if in the future i decide to get an ipod myself will i be able to connect both ipods to my macbook?

I'm not sure if you mean connecting the 2 iPods at the same time ... but I did find info on it anyway: