Keyboard problems?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13"(Early 2011) 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i5 Mac OS X 10.8.2
Currently, the lights on my keyboard don't work; well, actually I can adjust them manually using the F5 and the F6 buttons, but they don't automatically light up even though I do have the option checked in my preferences. I've been looking this problem up on the internet and I've only been able to find posts from at least two years back. Is anyone having this same problem?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
What model Mac do you have ?
List your Mac Specs under your name or in your Sig so people don't need to keep asking.
Cheers

OP
Hexen
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Here are my specs:
-MacBook Pro 13" 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i5
-Mac OS X 10.7.1

And I just added them as my signature. Sorry about not adding them sooner. I'm new to my Mac...so I'm new to this site as well:/

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Currently, the lights on my keyboard don't work; well, actually I can adjust them manually using the F5 and the F6 buttons, but they don't automatically light up even though I do have the option checked in my preferences. I've been looking this problem up on the internet and I've only been able to find posts from at least two years back. Is anyone having this same problem?

Let's try a SMC reset as that controls keyboard lighting. See this LINK.

OP
Hexen
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I did everything just as the article said, and when I restart my computer after resetting the SMC the lights do come on, but only for a split second. After that I have the same problem again. Is there anything else that I can do? The lights obviously work so its not a hardware issue, but a software issue. Is there anything that I can do in terminal?

OP
Hexen