iTunes 12 is using between 50-62GB of memory??!!

Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
Several times now since I've upgraded to Yosemite I have had my iMac get hung up and a pop-up pops up to force quit some apps.

I literally have maybe 5 apps up at any given time:

iTunes
Firefox
Thunderbird
Word for Mac
Excel for Mac

iTunes 12 this past time has shown 62.5GB in activity Monitor. My iMac never gets hung up if iTunes isn't running, but it's also not every time that iTunes runs it gets hung up.

I've about had it with Yosemite's problems, but this is about by far the worst. What are my otpions to fix this issue?
 
OP
T
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
Oh specs for my system are
iMac 27" late 2013
3.2gHz Intel i5
8GB DDR 1600Hz
NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M 1028MB
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I think you mean that iTunes is taking up 62.5 GB of hard drive space, not memory. Your iMac only has 8 GB of system memory. What exactly do you have loaded in iTunes? Your iMac hard drive should be 1 TB unless you ordered a larger one. What kind of pop ups are you getting? I'm assuming that's when you're using Safari?
 
OP
T
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
Exactly what I stated. when I pull up Activity monitor, iTunes shows that much system memory is being used int hat one app. it's not always 65GB, but thats what Activity Monitor showed the last time i had to force quit it. When I start it up it shows about 64MB. When the iMac hangs up, it's always over 50GB of memory. not hard drive space.

To compare, right now firefox is shwoping 348MB of memory and Thunderbird is showing 136MB.

Something is happening to iTunes at some point in time to become a memory hog. Either that or Yosemite can't control the app somehow and it goes off on a tangent
 
OP
T
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
To answer your earlier question, I don't use Safari, I hate it. Also, the pop-up is similar to this:

http://i.imgur.com/HDplIwv.jpg

This is NOT mine, I got it online because I did not screenshot it on mine, but this is the pop up I get when iTunes does this.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Fact: There cannot be 50+ GB of memory being used when you only have 8 GB of memory in the machine. Really need to get a screen shot of that for us to check out.

How is iTunes being used?

How much used and free space on the hard drive (or SSD)?

Have any 3rd party iTunes add-ons installed?

I've not had any issue with iTunes here and my '11 MacBook Air is woefully inadequate compared to the specs of your iMac. I do a lot of streaming via Airplay and download a lot of stuff. This past weekend I streamed a couple of movies to the ATV while simultaneously downloading the last 7 years worth of my Audible books (right at 100 GB worth) without a hiccup.
 
OP
T
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
I understand the fact that there cannot be 50+GB of memory, hence the problem. Next time I have the issue I will screenshot it.

iTunes for me has no songs on my Mac, just a bunch of movies and a tv season. No 3rd party anything.
 
OP
T
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
ScreenShot2014-12-24at113023AM_zps6dc3d6b7.png~original


Boom. That didn't take long. You can see here how much "memory" itunes is using. iTunes is the only app that is a constant when the Mac hangs up. And also I noticed Firefox uses a lot of memory too...6xxMB for 3 open tabs doesn't seem right. I'm about ready to revert back to Mavericks because Yosemite has given me so much headache...
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Never seen that much used before. Anyway, it's referring to "virtual memory" (look at the graph box below) which translates into swap space on your hard drive. That's not "real" or "wired" memory. But regardless, you have a problem (stating the obvious). It appears iTunes is rapidly using up virtual memory. What exactly do you have loaded in iTunes that could be running in the background?
 
OP
T
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
20
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (late-2013) 3.2GHz i5. Macbook Air 15" (Mid-2011). iPhone 6 16GB. iPad 4. iPad 2. iPad Mini
No idea!! I have not even touched iTunes aside from clicking it to run the app! I started it just to trouble shoot! It was running for about 2 hours with nothing being synced, connected or being played on it when I took that screenshot.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
That is an interesting screen shot for sure...

Based on the info there - I would try uninstalling Hyperdock and see if that stops it - it installs functions in the system that controls individual apps including iTunes.

If you have the version from the App store, you should be able to just move it to the trash - after you stop it from running.
If you have the version from the dev, you need to use their uninstaller - not sure where that would be, possibly in System Preferences - possibly bundled with the original installer...

Need to quit the app before uninstalling.
And restart the computer after.
 
Last edited:

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top