Is my snow leopard disc bad, or is it the Drive?

Reaction score
I just got my macbook pro off ebay. It was sealed and had everything in it, hasnt been touched.

its a a 13" macbook pro, and i did a search for info based on the serial and it said it was built in november 2009.

Anyways i was messing with the partitions. I wanted my windows 7 boot camp partition to be bigger. im new to macs so i dont know if there was an easier way to do this (now i believe disk utility will do it? i dunno).

anyways i used a ubuntu live cd, and it actually couldnt do it, but after doing that, i kept getting a no operating system error. I could boot up os x by using the alt key though.

But the disk utility would no longer work. it kept saying it lost connection to the drive.

So i decided to just wipe the entire hard drive, and do everything over from scratch. But when i put my os x disc in the drive (the one that came with the macbook) it just makes a clunk and thunk sound. The disc isnt scratched, and works fine any other time. i mean i load it up in windows and it pops up, etc.

but i cant get it to work in the macbook's drive while booting up. i dunno.
i was able to hook my hp external dvd drive and boot that way.

I have no problems with any other disc on the macbook, besides this one.

I know sometimes a disc can be kinda corrupt and only some players can read them if you're lucky.

but i dont know. Is there a way to test the optical drive in the macbook? Or away to test the disk?

Im going to try to get another os x disc and see if it works. doesnt make any sense to me.

does anyone have any ideas?

btw, i have OS X installing right now from my external drive, and it is making some weird noises (trying to read it, the fast buzz sound, but seems to be installing. i hope it goes through.... its kinda letting me know that its the actual disc :|

OP
B
Reaction score
i know its the disc now. cant really do much with it on the external drive either. :|

bobtomay

Retired Staff