• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

iPhone keeps asking to share old wifi password

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
456
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Replaced my old router at home.

Up to that point my iPhone kept asking to share the password with my MBP, although MBP was already logged onto wifi. Ignored the prompt.

Replaced old router and now all set up again.

However, iPhone keeps asking to share the old password to the old network that no longer exists.

Now it is getting annoying?

Any tips how to stop this prompt?
 

IWT


Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
6,545
Reaction score
232
Points
63
Location
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 5K Retina 27", August 2019, 3.6GHz Intel Core i9, Memory 32GB, 2TB SSD, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
I think what I'd do is remove/delete the old network from the iPhone.

In fact delete any old/unused networks so that your iPhone only has those currently in operation.

Need help with that, just ask.

Ian
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
456
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Help...please.

If the network were still available I would click the "i" and Forget this Network.

However, it is no longer available as I took the router down.

Are the unused networks stored elsewhere on the phone so that I can delete them?
 

IWT


Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
6,545
Reaction score
232
Points
63
Location
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 5K Retina 27", August 2019, 3.6GHz Intel Core i9, Memory 32GB, 2TB SSD, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
Are the unused networks stored elsewhere on the phone so that I can delete them?
Yes. On your iPhone, go into Settings > Wi-Fi. This will show "My Networks" and "Other Networks".

Alongside each Network there is an (i) in a circle. Click on that. The options are - "Join This Network", "Forget This Network". You want "Forget This Network". Choose that for the old one.

That should do the trick. I do this all the time as circumstances change.

Ian
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
456
Reaction score
0
Points
16
So older networks are not shown.

Only the ones that are in range.

Clicking "Other..." just asks for network name and password, which are no longer available.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
456
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I deleted the wifi network stored password in my MBP keychain.

Maybe that will help.
 
Top