IP Address constantly on screen

Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hi all,

Kind of embarrassed to make this my first post... I'm sure it's simple but is driving me nuts. For the past couple of weeks my screen constantly shows my IP address followed by "- SFTP" in a small grey bubble above the menu bar. I can't figure out how to turn it off, and can't find any info on the forums or google.

Can anybody help me with this? I'm using OSX Mavericks 10.9.5.

Thanks in advance.
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
15,816
Reaction score
2,170
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Can you take a screenshot (CMD+SHIFT+4) of the region and paste it here?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
"Above" the menubar? I gotta see this...
 
OP
D
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Whoops - meant to say "dock"

Sorry, my bad - I meant to say "dock" not menu bar! Off to a great start here :Oops:

Here's a screen.

Thanks,

dock-screen.png
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
15,816
Reaction score
2,170
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
What apps are running besides iTunes, Word and Excel?
 
OP
D
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hi,

Apps running are: Excel, Word, Safari, Terminal, Messages, mail, Vim, Calendar, iTunes... I tried closing them though - no difference.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
Did you quit them instead of simply closing all the windows? Did you happen to connect, through SFTP, to a remote directory from the Bash prompt (since might change the title of your Terminal window).
 
OP
D
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Sorry for late response - I had a night class (night time here). I quit all applications (cmd+q) and checked under "force quit" to make sure they weren't running.

I had ssh'd into a raspberry pi about 2 months ago to copy some files to it, not sure if that could be the culprit? But there are no running shells on my machine since that time. Title of my terminal windows is "username - bash - 80x24"
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
I went looking for some app or widget that might do that but the SFTP part got me...
Thought maybe Netstat?
Don't know of anything that does notifications there except maybe the old Growl.
I'm assuming you ssh'd through Terminal? That wouldn't do that, unless you got some weird driver for the Pi.
I'm stumped.
Maybe a list of processes from Activity Monitor might give a clue?
 
OP
D
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hey, actually I think you've led me on the right path with your questions cradom. I used cyberduck for sftp, but when I left the house where the pi is located I shut the lid without closing connections properly. I guess I'll try going back over there and re-connecing, then disconnecting properly. Probably won't do squat but worth a shot at least...
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
573
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
It looks like one of those odd glitches that comes from an unexpected operation (a bad quit in this case). The solution to this might be as simple as opening and closing Cyberduck properly.
 
OP
D
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Tried that, no change. I'll try to reconnect to the pi when I get a chance. Hope I'm not just stuck with it. Sounds trivial, but it's a bit annoying. Also, I'd like to know for sure what it is - the paranoid in me is wondering if it's a security threat...
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Tried that, no change. I'll try to reconnect to the pi when I get a chance. Hope I'm not just stuck with it. Sounds trivial, but it's a bit annoying. Also, I'd like to know for sure what it is - the paranoid in me is wondering if it's a security threat...

Go to Activity Monitor…and check "All Process's" or "My Process's"…and see if there are any operations that could indicate something (like an app running that you weren't thinking of). Especially if it's an "auto-loading" app.

- Nick
 
OP
D
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
pigoo3 - tried that too. No apps running I don't recognise. Plenty of processes I know know what they're for, but nothing really jumping at me.
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
15,816
Reaction score
2,170
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Does this persist across reboots?
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top