Installing mountain lion over snow leopard

Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Southern Illinois
Your Mac's Specs
20-inch early 2009 iMac, 2.66GHz, 8 GB, 10.8.5, 319 GB Hard Drive
I have a MacBook running snow leopard (had leopard on it when I bought it used on eBay) I upgraded to snow leopard but I need to install mountain lion. Question is, can I do that directly, or do I need to install lion first?

Processor 2.16GHz, intel core 2 duo. Not sure of the year it was made. memory 4 g, I know 8 would be better, but I only use this when traveling, mostly for email or a bit of browsing.

Thanks in advance,

Skillet01
 
OP
S
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Southern Illinois
Your Mac's Specs
20-inch early 2009 iMac, 2.66GHz, 8 GB, 10.8.5, 319 GB Hard Drive
Oh--it's a black MacBook, I think a 13 inch, if that's important.

Skillet
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Without knowing the exact year and model, I can't give you a definitive answer. If it's a 2008 Core 2 Duo 2.16 GHZ black MacBook, then the maximum amount of memory it will take is 6 GB and the latest version of OS X it can run is Lion. (10.7.5)

Edit: If this is a black MacBook 2.16 Core 2 Duo, then it's a 2007 model.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,554
Reaction score
1,071
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
I upgraded to snow leopard but I need to install mountain lion. Question is, can I do that directly, or do I need to install lion first?

Unfortunately the more important question wasn't asked…and that's IF this MacBook is capable of running Mountain Lion. And unfortunately…it is not capable of running OS 10.8 "Mountain Lion". Max. OS for this computer is 10.7.5 (Lion)

Processor 2.16GHz, intel core 2 duo. Not sure of the year it was made. memory 4 g, I know 8 would be better, but I only use this when traveling, mostly for email or a bit of browsing.

8gig of ram might be better…but like the Mountain Lion OS capability mentioned above…this computer is not capable of being upgraded to 8gig of ram. In fact technically…it doesn't have 4gig of ram either. Yes there is 4gig of ram installed…but only about 3.0-3.25gig is actually addressable.

Sorry for the bad news…but any info is good info.:)

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,554
Reaction score
1,071
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Edit: If this is a black MacBook 2.16 Core 2 Duo, then it's a 2007 model.

This is what I was assuming in my reply.:)

- Nick
 
OP
S
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Southern Illinois
Your Mac's Specs
20-inch early 2009 iMac, 2.66GHz, 8 GB, 10.8.5, 319 GB Hard Drive
Thanks! So..is it a memory issue, or is it just that the hardware won't handle any newer systems? Or both..

Skillet
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,554
Reaction score
1,071
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Thanks! So..is it a memory issue, or is it just that the hardware won't handle any newer systems? Or both..

I think that the answer is both.

- This model MacBook cannot run an OS version newer than 10.7.5 (no Mountain Lion).
- And this model MacBook cannot be upgraded to 8gig of ram. Original max. ram from Apple was only 2gig of ram.

So being able to install 4gig of ram (3gig addressable)…is actually already a BONUS. No 8gig of ram.

- Nick
 
OP
S
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Southern Illinois
Your Mac's Specs
20-inch early 2009 iMac, 2.66GHz, 8 GB, 10.8.5, 319 GB Hard Drive
I did find the year, mid 2007. I'm thinking that whoever I got it from did some upgrading before he sold it. Supposedly this laptop came with a hard drive of 160G. However, when I click on the hard drive and then Get Info, it says it has 499.76 G (of which 484 is available)

I've had it for a while, and it's been great; hate to give it up, but sometimes I need a newer system to access things now and then.

Skillet
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,554
Reaction score
1,071
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
I did find the year, mid 2007. I'm thinking that whoever I got it from did some upgrading before he sold it. Supposedly this laptop came with a hard drive of 160G. However, when I click on the hard drive and then Get Info, it says it has 499.76 G (of which 484 is available)

I've had it for a while, and it's been great; hate to give it up, but sometimes I need a newer system to access things now and then.

Totally understandable.:) If you absolutely…positively…NEED Mountain Lion…then it is now new/used computer shopping time!:) Which isn't always a bad thing if you have the budget to do it.

And if Mountain Lion is NEEDED…then even if there is no budget for a new/newer computer…then the budget must be found (time to sell the baseball card collection…or something)!;)

- Nick
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
792
Reaction score
4
Points
18
You can cheat it if you want to but it really is a major hassle.

There is sixty four on thirty two it does work on mountain lion for unsupported macintoshes but if you decide to go that route remember this.

Dvd player

and quicktime

Won't function the o.s runs fun but the gpu settings would be limited.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top