Installing Airport in G4 Mini

Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
321
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Connecticut
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13" 2012 2.9 GHz i7, 750 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM
I know this came as a built to order option, but if the machine doesn't have it, is it possible to add an airport card to a G4 mini?

-Nick
 
OP
fiveightandten
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
321
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Connecticut
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13" 2012 2.9 GHz i7, 750 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM
Thanks for the reply. So the airport card will just pop in? Is there a pre-existing slot in the unit for it...just pop it open, and slide the card in?


-Nick
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
It's not like a normal Mac where the Airport or Airport Express just plugs in a slot, but not impossible either. There are instructions all over the new on how to take the Mini apart and the Kit i pointed you to has instructions on how to install it once it's apart.
 
OP
fiveightandten
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
321
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Connecticut
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13" 2012 2.9 GHz i7, 750 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM
As far as I can tell its not gunna be that easy I am looking into doing it myself...
Hmmm, that doesn't sound very encouraging. ; )
It's not like a normal Mac where the Airport or Airport Express just plugs in a slot, but not impossible either. There are instructions all over the new on how to take the Mini apart and the Kit i pointed you to has instructions on how to install it once it's apart.
I'll have to pop it open at some point and take a look. It's actually my girlfriend's computer, but I figured it'd be worth it to throw an airport card in it for her.

I was hoping to find a cheap one on eBay or something. I guess i'd have to grab a kit so no mishaps find their way into the install process. Thanks for the heads up though...i'll poke around on google and see what I can find as far as installation info. I just wanted to be sure the machine will take a card before buying one.

-Nick
 
OP
fiveightandten
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
321
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Connecticut
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13" 2012 2.9 GHz i7, 750 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM
For future reference, here's what the deal is...at least as far as I can tell from a few minutes of googling.

The minis that didn't come with airport cards stocked from the factory need more than just an airport card to become wifi capable.

The card plugs into a daughter board, which is seperate from the main board in the unit. Non-airport minis don't have the board installed, so if you want airport, you need to get a hold of that board as well and install it.

I haven't clarified if that link above comes with the daughter board or not.

Thanks again for the replies.

-Nick
 
OP
fiveightandten
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
321
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Connecticut
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13" 2012 2.9 GHz i7, 750 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM
Excellent, thanks for the link. I'm not sure it's worth the money and effort, seeing as the new CD machines aren't all that expensive and are definitely superior. But this is good info to know.

A good place to find information on upgrading the mini among other issues is www.123macmini.com. It's a forum similar to this but specialising in the mini.
Thanks, I had found that in a google search a while back, but forgot about it.

-Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top