• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

iMOVIE Disk Space Saving?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
01-Mar-2011 MacBook Pro v10.7.1, 2.0 Ghz, 8 Gb MEM, 500 Gb HD
I am new with my MAC and I'm using iMovie to edit and create videos. I'm taking videos with a Canon Vixia HFM40 video camera in HD (1920x1080) and while it has 16Gb built-in mem and 2 slots for additional cards, the raw format of a 40 min event is approximately 6 Gb. However when I import the video into iMovie (v9.0.4), it expands my video clips that make up the recording to 30-40 Gb. I would like to retain the original (raw) video (as it is a much smaller/compressed version), import my recording, perform my edits and dump the exploded video clips...then import the raw footage again in the future if I need it - however - it appears that iMovie only recognizes this when the recorded footage is in it's initial state on the video camera. I tried to re-import it later from a location I saved the raw footage to and iMovie didn't recognize the format. I then moved the raw footage back to the camera to attempt to re-import it and again iMovie no longer recognzied it. Retaining the original exploded video in this HD format is consuming a lot of space - HELP!