iMac or Macbook Pro?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo--2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Girlfriend pretty much told me that I am getting a new computer for Christmas.

Now I have to decide between an iMac or Macbook Pro.

I am a teacher and I do a lot of video editing, photo editing, projects, etc and I need a fast machine.

What could I do more with and upgrade easier if needed? What machine with specs would y'all recommend?

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13in rMBP 2014 Yosemite
The iMac would be my choice.
--iMacs have dedicated/separate graphics cards that will aide in your a/v editing.
--the 27 inch iMac (retina or Non retina) has user upgradable ram. (The only laptop that has that made by apple is circa 2012)
--more pixels on iMac for viewing.
--upgrading either an iMac or MacBook Pro hard drive on your own will void warranty.
--Can go up to 32gb ram in iMac (only 16 on MacBook Pro)
--both choices mean you need an external cd/dvd drive if that's something you use often (except for the 2012 MBP that has a CD drive still)
-- iMacs have less accidents (beer on the keyboard won't ruin the iMac- just your peripheral)
The only real down side is that an iMac is not not portable.
If that is important to you then get an MBP.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13in rMBP 2014 Yosemite
As for the specs.
Get the things that aren't user upgradable from apple.
--A hard drive size your comfortable with-500gb at least- if you save a lot of your work on site. The SSDs are super fast and can't go wrong with any of them (accept maybe the 256 since video will pile up fast)
--most ppl here say get the most you can afford. bump up the CPU and graphics card (I think 4gb is the high end now)
--You can get the ram later and save yourself a few hundred dollars (only on the 27 inch)

If I ever buy another iMac it will def be a 27 inch. You can't upgrade the screen on your own unless you buy a big peripheral monitor to plug into your already new iMac.