iMac button stopped working .

Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I have an aluminium cased iMac with which the power button stopped working and the machine dead . Its out of warranty so i took it to a specialist who said that the button is part of the structure and can't be repaired so the machine not able to be mended , Is that right that Apple built a machine that could be rendered useless because of a button ? Was there a re-call i missed or can it be fixed . I am sick of macs right now.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
If you're "sick of mac's". Why not sell it…and get a Windows computer?

- Nick
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Is that right that Apple built a machine that could be rendered useless because of a button ? Was there a re-call i missed or can it be fixed . I am sick of macs right now.

No that is not right. Next time take your iMac to a qualified Apple service center or an Apple Store and have it diagnosed properly. Your iMac can be repaired by someone who knows how.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
That "specialist" must be a specialist in cars, but he doesn't know doodly-squat about Macs apparently.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
387
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
M3 iMac, 24 GB RAM, 10 core GPU
The switch is integral with the body, so it looks like the case has to be replaced. (Is a replacement case even available?) I researched this a bit because my switch is flaking out too ('12 iMac). Though it's not dead, I have to be careful to press it in the center for it to work. Surely there's got to be a way to by pass the bad switch with a jury rigged one of some kind.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
It CAN be replaced. Don't listen to so called Specialists

Check the iFixit URL Harry just posted.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Sorry Dennis got that 'n' in there somehow.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Sorry Dennis got that 'n' in there somehow.

Not a problem. I also was interested and clicked it and when it did not work figured I would find it in case the OP returns. It's sort of a pain as you have to take out the Logic board, but otherwise can be fixed! Thanks for posting it as it got me to check iFixit! :D

BTW I have never had a button on my many iMacs or Minis ever not work. Maybe I am lucky! :D Grin

Actually on the 20" models you do not have to take out the Logic board but just the Hard Drive Fan.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
968
Reaction score
131
Points
43
Location
UK
Your Mac's Specs
Various Mac's
The official Apple way to repair when the power switch fails is to replace the rear cover. The power switch is integrated into the case and isn't available as an Apple supplied spare part. The rear cover as Apple call the case, is available to Apple Stores and AASP's as long the the iMac isn't vintage. Who ever looked at the OP's iMac wasn't much of a specialist.

If it was my iMac I would simply fit a momentary make push button switch adjacent to the old one, cut the old switch's 2 wires and solder to the replacement, simple. I've never had a power switch fail in the white cased or later aluminium iMac's, and only 4 in the 21.5" and 27" models since their introduction, not a common problem. When they do fail, pushing the button doesn't feel right, or the button doesn't move in. It's easy to check by attempting to power on by shorting out the 2 pins on the back of the logic board socket the switch connects to with the tip of a small screwdriver.

I doubt the OP will be back, trolls rarely do. I'm only posting this in case anyone else ever has a switch problem.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
^^^ what he said.

Most of the time (in my experience as a former Apple tech), the button was damaged by abusive use or on occasion would "catch" on the edge of its recession. Everything else techiesteve said I agree with 100 percent.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
So Chas, then you are saying IFixit and their article is wrong? Interesting as I know people who have fixed them! :D
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top