iMac (2008) wipe and re-image with El Capitan

Reaction score
All, I hope this is simpler and less painful than Apple support makes it... Got a hand me down iMac. Used it for a while now want to sell it. Have a buyer. I was able to wipe via recovery mode. Then it crashed and hangs. I finally am able to get back in after doing a safe boot. I have to install El Capitan on it. I found the .dmg file. I am pretty new to this side of tech Mac so I chatted with support. Since this is "Vintage", they don't support it and actually have pulled install files from the store. Won't even look at it in the Apple store so have to go third party ($150) for help. It can't be that hard. It won't work with recovery partition and am looking for instructions on how to get back up and clean via USB (at this point it is non bootable).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. And if I have left out any info, please let me know and I will post immediately. Thank you, Ryan.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
[This post will be split into two parts as it won't upload in one!!] most annoying...

What is not working or why in the recovery partition???

Do you have any way of downloading and using the Download OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 Combo Update ?
Download OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 Combo Update

- Patrick
======

- - - Updated - - -

[2nd half]

If that works mm you can then boot the Mac, then just set it up with a new "Tester" admin user, bypass using any password if you like or if you're allowed, then make sure your old user account has been deleted.

Then it would be ready for the new purchaser to test and set up a new admin user account for themselves.

If those don't work, use the services of a good mac tech, not Apple paid or res, to help you out.

- Patrick
======

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
@admins