ichat screen sharing

Del


Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
901
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Location
N. Ireland
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2xQuad core 2.8GHZ
So my friend and I are unable to remotely share each others screens in ichat, is it most likely a port forwarding issue? I know my router has port forwarding enabled but I dont think he has his setup correctly (if at all)

We CAN share screens through ichat when we are both behind the same router i.e. over a local network. And under the same circumstances we can also screen share using VNC.

The only time we can not screen share is when he is at his house behind his router, and I'm at my house behind my router i.e. across the web.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,229
Reaction score
26
Points
48
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4K iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM. Crucial 500GB external SSD
I could not get it working either, for the 7 days I had leopard installed. lol.

another great feature of leopard that needs work? seemed like it to me.
 
OP
D

Del


Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
901
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Location
N. Ireland
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2xQuad core 2.8GHZ
I could not get it working either, for the 7 days I had leopard installed. lol.

another great feature of leopard that needs work? seemed like it to me.

Nope it has worked for us in the past (in one direction only)
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
2,542
Reaction score
79
Points
48
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core Duo 20", iBook G4, iPhone 8GB :)
Both have the latest version of Leopard installed right? 10.5.4? Cause sometimes the version numbers conflict with each other.

If you are having port forwarding issues, check out Lighthouse. Supposed to solve and port forwarding issues, but I haven't tried it yet.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
82
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Tampa
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro -- 2 Ghz Intel Core Duo / 2 GB Ram / 320GB HD -- iPhone 3G Black 16GB
i can never get the screen sharing to work lol. :(
 
OP
D

Del


Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
901
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Location
N. Ireland
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2xQuad core 2.8GHZ
Both have the latest version of Leopard installed right? 10.5.4? Cause sometimes the version numbers conflict with each other.

My machine does, will check with the other guy to ensure his has also.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top