I really don't want to but I may have to

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I am very ignorant of macs and don't really know what they can do and what they can't do. I have a slight idea, but I'm sure my assumptions are just baseless generalizations.

I was hoping you folks could help me. I'm taking and film editing class and they teach it using final cut. Unfortunately it's only for macs, and I only have access to xp/vista or linux distros.

I am a poor college student and I did get some money from Pell Grants, but most of it went to tuition and books. The rest is still sitting in my account and I can afford about 50% maybe 60% of the cheapest macbook (so about $500) with the 4gb of ram upgrade.

I talked to my parents and they told me they could help me with the rest from tax returns. Great, yes? I am however very worried about this "investment".

I love PCs. I love the fact that if something fries, I can replace the part for cheap (rather than buying the whole **** thing), I like that I can upgrade some parts later on, I like the freedom of it. I also like not having to buy "insurance" for it for that very reason.

I have tried running leopard on a virtual machine, but it reminds me of running wine on ubuntu, which for me was never a great experience. If safari takes a good 30 seconds to load, I can only imagine how final cut will run (molasses, yes?).

I'm also considering reformatting my pc, partitioning a part off and installing leopard there, but I've heard success rate is hit or miss, or something of ilk. I also have to back up a lot of stuff up on my external hdd, so that's going to take a while.

The school does offer lab hours, but I have other classes during those times and the the day that I do have a chance, it's only for one hour and it's 1hr drive. Not sure how efficient that is.