I can't open JPG on my MAC OS X Lion 10.7.5

Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I can't open JPG on my MAC OS X Lion 10.7.5. I was able to open JPG in the past but now I can't. This is my first time using this site so I would appreciate any help in resolving this.
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
122
Reaction score
2
Points
18
What happens when you try?

Does this happen to all jpgs or just the one?

It should open in Preview.app unless it is damaged or a really oddball jpeg format.
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
14,879
Reaction score
1,291
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio, macOS Ventura, 32 GB
A valid JPEG file can be preview by just hitting the spacebar on it when highlighted in Finder. If that doesn't show you the image, then it isn't a valid JPEG image file..
 
OP
R
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Sorry, I should have provided more details. I can see the image just fine when it is a thumbnail, however when I tried to open the image all I get is garbage. When I take the same JPG and copy the file to my PC I can see the thumbnail of the image and open the file just fine. This is really odd, why would I be able to see the thumbnail image on my MAC with no issues however when I tried to open it in finder or iphoto I only get garbage.

This is happening to all the JPG on my MAC.
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
14,879
Reaction score
1,291
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio, macOS Ventura, 32 GB
Can you hit CMD+i on the image files and get information about dimensions, and so on? How about trying to open the image in Preview instead of iPhoto?
 
OP
R
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
OK, here it is.

Dimensions: 2592 x 3872
Device Make: Nikon Corporation
Device Model: NIKON D200
Color Space: RGB
Color Profile: sRGB IEC61966-2.1
Focal length: 24
Alpha channel: No
Red eye: No
F number: 8
Exposure program: 2
Exposure time: 1/250

When I try to open the image in preview mode I still get the same results.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
A valid JPEG file can be preview by just hitting the spacebar on it when highlighted in Finder. If that doesn't show you the image, then it isn't a valid JPEG image file..

I'm afraid you are mistaken. I am having the same issue, Preview will not open most (but not all for some baffling reason) jpg files. Photoshop however opens them just fine, so does Windows Picture Viewer. Previously I had installed the 10.10.3 beta which completely hosed my MBP, rendering it unbootable. I reinstalled 10.10.2 over the top and all was well, until I started going through my photo collection a couple weeks later. I am guessing that has something to do with it.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
16,093
Reaction score
880
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Boy, we seem to have a few testy first time posters here today, maybe it's an Easter Good Friday thing!!

Anyway, Raz0rEdge the poster that you quoted is not mistaken. If you can or will accept that, then maybe some can help get your problem fixed. ;)
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Boy, we seem to have a few testy first time posters here today, maybe it's an Easter Good Friday thing!!

Anyway, Raz0rEdge the poster that you quoted is not mistaken. If you can or will accept that, then maybe some can help get your problem fixed. ;)

Didn't think I was being testy, but the statement IS wrong as I am looking at about 10,000 jpegs that will open perfectly fine in anything but Preview. Logic would dictate the issue is with the one app that doesn't work, not the files.

For the record, I'm not a fist time poster. I had to create a new account as I couldn't remember the one I created 5 years ago. I sort of fell out of using this forum as I rarely found useful info here (too much cult of Steve, not enough tech). Google directed me to this thread and there isn't much on the subject elsewhere. What is available tends to get hung on the precept of Preview infallibility which isn't all that helpful.

Ultimately, I suspect I will have to either reinstall or wait until Apple gets 10.10.3 out of beta, which doesn't seem to be an immediate likelihood.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
16,093
Reaction score
880
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Sorry for the accusations but I think they are warranted, and your post reminds me of the mother watching her son march by with his all his army colleagues and remarks, oh look at Jony, and he's the only one marching in step. ;) :D

And BTW, you'll find that I am not a bigoted Apple FANboy!!
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
8,428
Reaction score
295
Points
83
Location
Waiting for a mate . . .
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
You shouldn't be putting a Public Beta on a working partition anyway. Im afraid I think Apple got it wrong letting the public in on this, because there are so many people installing the Beta (so they have the latest and greatest and feel special) and then complain that it stuffed something up (not saying you did either).
Im a Developer, and ALWAYS have my Beta on a Separate Partition, so I can still do work, and also test.

Apple will put the 10.10.3 update out, when its good and ready and not before time. You really should have made a backup first, and then installed the Beta and use the backup to get to where you want to be, and not be waiting for the release.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
You shouldn't be putting a Public Beta on a working partition anyway. Im afraid I think Apple got it wrong letting the public in on this, because there are so many people installing the Beta (so they have the latest and greatest and feel special) and then complain that it stuffed something up (not saying you did either).
Im a Developer, and ALWAYS have my Beta on a Separate Partition, so I can still do work, and also test.

Apple will put the 10.10.3 update out, when its good and ready and not before time. You really should have made a backup first, and then installed the Beta and use the backup to get to where you want to be, and not be waiting for the release.

Obviously you takes your chances with beta, which is why I have 3 backups...well 2 1/2 (long story). I also keep my data, including 5 virtual machines, on a separate drive from the OS, which is on an SSD (because SuperDrive is for suckas!). I'm not complaining about anything, nor am I particularly adverse to reinstalling, I'd just like to figure out what is causing Preview to fail, because my security badge says I'm an IT Specialist and I might see this again on a client's computer.

So far all I'm getting here is "Preview can't possibly fail!" – a bold and definitive statement that no tech professional would ever make about anything, and "You shouldn't use beta," which is just shorthand for "I have no idea how to address your issue". I shouldn't have even mentioned beta, it's like telling people in a general forum you're on a Mac...you'll get no response except "You should get Windows!" Clearly this is going to be another mac-forums login I'm going to completely forget about.

Again, not testy, just unimpressed.
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
8,428
Reaction score
295
Points
83
Location
Waiting for a mate . . .
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Obviously you takes your chances with beta, which is why I have 3 backups...well 2 1/2 (long story). I also keep my data, including 5 virtual machines, on a separate drive from the OS, which is on an SSD (because SuperDrive is for suckas!). I'm not complaining about anything, nor am I particularly adverse to reinstalling, I'd just like to figure out what is causing Preview to fail, because my security badge says I'm an IT Specialist and I might see this again on a client's computer.

So far all I'm getting here is "Preview can't possibly fail!" – a bold and definitive statement that no tech professional would ever make about anything, and "You shouldn't use beta," which is just shorthand for "I have no idea how to address your issue". I shouldn't have even mentioned beta, it's like telling people in a general forum you're on a Mac...you'll get no response except "You should get Windows!" Clearly this is going to be another mac-forums login I'm going to completely forget about.

Again, not testy, just unimpressed.


I didn't say once you where "testy" and even stated I wasn't saying you where complaining, I was just pointing out the problem with Public and Beta's, because there was NOWHERE that you said, you had backups, or similar.
If you have a backup, why not use that to fix the Photo's issue, instead of bleating out, that you will wait until Apple push out the update, and make it seem like you where complaining !!

As to the Preview issue, have you tried to get rid of the Preview .plist ??

Make sure Preview is completely closed ⌘Q and navigate to
Code:
/Users/TattooedMac/Library/Group\ Containers/com.apple.Preview/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Preview.plis
where TattooedMac = yourUserName and drag that to your Desktop, now restart your Mac and open Preview. A new .plist will be created. See if that helps.
If it does, trash the .plist on your Desktop, and go about your business. If not put the .plist back, click 'replace' and we go onto the next part of fault finding.

Oh, have you tried to reset SMC and/or PRAM/NVRAM ??
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
16,093
Reaction score
880
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
I guess there's no point replying again or further to an "IT Specialist" whose logic on the problem seems a bit misplaced, especially considering the circumstances.

I'm sure not defending Preview, but gee, most of the jpg files wouldn't open with a single copy of Preview might lead some logic thinking that maybe that one copy of Preview might be a bit goofy.

Or the fact that all the Windows based applications can open them without problem leads me to think they must be in some volume that allows both Mac and Windows format access, that's been messed with a fair bit.

Yes, it would be nice to know or discover why Preview cannot open those jpgs now, and I assume it could before. But I guess we'll never know.

But I'd be surprised if the problem reoccurs with public release software and good valid jpgs on any "client's computer" and even if they are working in a cross platform world. ;) :D

I'd have been interested in knowing if any of the files that wouldn't open with Preview could be once they had been opened with the Windows app and Saved as a new file. Oh well…, they've gone on with beta testing I guess and one tested copy of Preview is failing … :D
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top