• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

How would I be able to do this (Noob question)

Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
226
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.2 ghz / 30GB 4200 / 1.25 GIG
Like, I have to switch my connection my internet and desktop if I want to use either.

What I'm trying to ask is... is there a way I could split my connection and have my iBook and desktop both running on the internet @ the same time?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
1,072
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Get a router?? Im assuming you have cable internet???

Modem> Router > iBook + Desktop
 
M

meltbanana314

Guest
Are you using dial-up internet or broadband (cable/DSL?)

If you have broadband and want to share the connection wirelessly (this is easier than running Ethernet through the house, believe me) - put a wireless card in your desktop and buy one of these and set it up (http://www.apple.com/airportextreme/)

Your iBook should already have a wireless card inside
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
226
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.2 ghz / 30GB 4200 / 1.25 GIG
Yes, I'm using DSL connection.
Well, my ibook is a g3 did they have wireless cards in g3's?
 
S

sonofapplepm

Guest
The Airport card was optional. If you click the Blue apple in the top left corner>About this mac>More info... you should see airport card, if you have an airport card installed. Hope this helps!
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
226
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.2 ghz / 30GB 4200 / 1.25 GIG
Ok, I went to about this mac, but I did not see a "more info" option.

Here is a screen of what I got.

Picture 1.jpg
 

trpnmonkey41


Retired Staff
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
6,999
Reaction score
187
Points
63
Location
Hamilton College
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
You do have airport. On the top bar on the right side you see the icon whose picture I attached this means you have airport
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
226
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.2 ghz / 30GB 4200 / 1.25 GIG
ok, so if I have it what am I suppose to do so it'll work? And how do I access the more info option on about this mac...

Oh, and another question that dosen't go with any of this, but I read somewhere you said if you here some clicks in the logicboard that means something is wrong with your hdd... I hear the clanks sometimes when I'm loading a webpage or something on my mac, but it's not affecting anything.. I just hear it.

But when I'm listening to iTunes and then I quit iTunes my screen blinks then comes back up.. do you think that'll be just my old os x?
 

trpnmonkey41


Retired Staff
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
6,999
Reaction score
187
Points
63
Location
Hamilton College
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
Yes you could do the wireless with just a router now.

More Info wasn't included in the About this Mac until Jaguar. Check under Applications -> Utilitiies and see if System Profiler is there that is the same thing
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
226
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.2 ghz / 30GB 4200 / 1.25 GIG
How would I do wireless with a routher?
 

muso


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
4
Reaction score
16
Points
3
Location
Whangarei, New Zealand
Your Mac's Specs
Pwnt
There is actually a way you can share your internet connection without a router. If you have the wireless card in your desktop, make that handle all the connections for the internet (i.e. plug the modem directly into that) then go into preferences > sharing and turn internet sharing on. Then turn airport on on both computers, create a network from the desktop (easiest way is through the menu bar icon) and then connect to that network with your ibook.

However, this means that you'll have to have your desktop turned on all the time, which would be avoided if you use the router. If you want to use a router you'll find instructions for internet sharing in its manual; each one has a different method. The setup I have at the moment is we have a router that's got a modem built in, so it handles both the connection and the networking.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
226
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.2 ghz / 30GB 4200 / 1.25 GIG
muso said:
There is actually a way you can share your internet connection without a router. If you have the wireless card in your desktop, make that handle all the connections for the internet (i.e. plug the modem directly into that) then go into preferences > sharing and turn internet sharing on. Then turn airport on on both computers, create a network from the desktop (easiest way is through the menu bar icon) and then connect to that network with your ibook.

However, this means that you'll have to have your desktop turned on all the time, which would be avoided if you use the router. If you want to use a router you'll find instructions for internet sharing in its manual; each one has a different method. The setup I have at the moment is we have a router that's got a modem built in, so it handles both the connection and the networking.
It sounds so complicated :eek:neye:

Could I get one of those linkskys routers from wal-mart?
 
X

xthisisRomancex

Guest
...yea..get a linksys WIRELESS router from walmart../ ( or any other store) and it is fairly simple to set up. If you have n e questions just post thyem here we will bve mroe than welcom to hlpe you
 
M

möbius

Guest
If you want to buy one, I have a linksys 4 port router and a dlink 4 port router sitting in my basement. They aren't doing anything because I upgraded to a wireless router and a nice 16 port switch. I would sell either of them dirt cheap.
 
Top