How to use Xcode for C++

Reaction score
I am a student that is taking C++ and I want to use my Mac, not my PC. I downloaded Xcode and installed it. But I don't know how to use it. I have to use Spotlight just to find Xcode. Then I click new project. Then the Assistant opens. I think I'm supposed to choose Empty Project. Then what? I do File-->New File-->and there are different kinds of C++ files and Header files and Empty File in Project. Anyone know how to write some C++ code with Xcode? Thanks.

Reaction score
well, one way you can make it easier to find is to right click(cmd click, I think?) on it after you have opened it(look at the dock) and tell it to keep in dock.

on the same menu you get when right clicking, you'll see new project, make one, and you should have some options.

Reaction score
a little help...?

Hi, I read your first message of help and I was wondering if you could perhaps direct me on some site or so where it explains the functioning of the xcode tool?
thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16 GHz
There are so many choices. But I finally figured it out.

Please tell Us how. I am getting the their by I don't have the $PATH set to include ever thing it should so I haver the call an excitable that I have written, compiled linked ..... by calling ./about so I am close to the right place to be.

The directory structure is not too bad it is, like many other things, a bit differ than anything else I have seen. I haven't been working with the box long enough to really be trying to ask for help let alone try to give it. I use really acacia tools vi is my friend in a pinch. Being able to use mack tools programing Unix is blast. When you get a place set up too work that works don't mess with it.