how to disable passwords for actions by administrator

Reaction score
I have searched all over this site, and all over the internet to no avail. Every search result came back with instructions on how to recover a forgotten password. But I will continue to search, so i apologize if this is a repost.

I just bought a brand new Mac Mini (the 599 one) and set it up last night. Naturally, i started customizing right away. (I'm a stubborn graphic designer who likes to have things exactly where i want them, etc.) I began installing productivity apps, google chrome, etc. Every time i install something, or make a change, it requests an administrator password.. Even though i'm logged in on the administrator account.

My question is, how do i disable this? I live with people i trust and i'm NOT concerned about unauthorized access to my computer. I have nothing to hide and i don't want to have to enter an admin password for every app/software install.

please help!

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
You shouldn't have to enter a password if you install files to /Applications. You also have full write privileges to your home directory and a few other directories such as /tmp. Other directories require passwords for a reason - this is how Unix works.

You could change this by making the entire filesystem r/w for everyone but seeing as how that is extraordinarily unsecure, I don't feel comfortable telling you how to do it.

OP
B
Reaction score
i accept all responsibility for changes that i make. This computer is ONLY for designing etc. none of my personal info will be stored on the computer.. i wont use it for banking etc.

Also, the Macs i use at school don't require passwords for everything (some things yes, but not everything, as is the case on my computer). So there must be a way to change permissions on a lower level than simply changing the entire filesystem right?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs