• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

how do I add IPs to the mac os firewall?

Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
is their a way? Im using the bluejeans app for video conferencing, its been having playback issues. their help document says I need to add IPs to my firewall allowed list I guess? I know I can allow apps but its not an app its done in the browser... how do I unblock tcp/udp ports on mac?


looks like I can maybe add the IPs to my firewall at the router level. but I have no idea what im doing and don't want to mess something up. surely don't want to make my mac less secure. :/


BlueJeans Support Center
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,059
Reaction score
156
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
Just turn off the firewall on the Mac. You don't really need it unless you take your Mac out to an unprotected location, like a coffee shop, and connect to their network. In you own home, if you have a passworded security setup on the router, that's all you need.

Having said that, you may still need to add something to your router to allow bluejeans to work. I'm not familiar with bluejeans at all. Maybe someone using it will chime in.
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
12,666
Reaction score
305
Points
83
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2018 Mac-Mini macOS Catalina 10.15.5, 32 GB
I'll second Jake, turn off the firewall on your Mac and the firewall on your router isn't managed, meaning you aren't using a whitelist of addresses to control connections.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
cool thanks. I've always had the mac firewall ON for decades, assuming it was helping to protect me? but you're saying it really does not? Im new to bluejeans also, and I've never tried messing with the firewall much.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,059
Reaction score
156
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
If you have a router from your ISP, it has (99.9%) a firewall in it, and the pass wording system to log into your router then provides security. If you take your Mac out, as I said, and connect to a strange network, then you need the firewall on the Mac to protect you. (Such as it is. Firewalls aren't terrifically secure. If you really need security in an alien network, use a VPN.)
 
Top