How big is too big in display?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
First Mac Plus 1987
I'm going to pull the trigger and take the plunge buying a new Mac mini or iMac or a refurbished model. I've been using an HP 22" widescreen LCD with my PC but am considering a 27" iMac or even a 28" widescreen aftermarket to go with the Mac mini. I have two questions is there a noticeable difference between LCD and LED monitors? The other question is can you have a monitor TOO LARGE to comfortably view 15" to 18" in front of you? I was totally stoked when I graduated from a 15" crt monitor to my 22" widescreen LCD, I really like big displays.:eek::D

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
If you're a game player, yes, the screen can get too big. One of my first experiments was wih a 32" screen. Sitting at a desk, most people are about 2' from the screen. The 32" was really nice for just about everything except games. Especially if you're one that tends to have multiple windows open.

With a game, you're going to find yourself actually moving your head from side to side to see everything going on in the game. Found myself having to move back to the 4-6' range for quite a few games to be able to see the whole screen at once.

Downsized to a 26" which made the 2' (maybe 3') range much more playable. Of course, if you just play point and clicks, these sizes won't matter a lot.

OP
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
First Mac Plus 1987
Thanks for the insight, however, I don't game but often have multiple windows open at one time. Where I really enjoy a large display is in working with images in Photoshop. How about the difference in LCD vs LED monitors?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD