Help!!! Total Newbie!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook2,1 2 GHz, 1 GB, 667 MHz, Ipod 4 GB Nano, 2nd gen Ipod shuffle, Ipod touch 8GB
Hi All,

I've just recently bought a Macbook and I'm lovin it!! I am however not very computer literate, luckily I'm a fast learner! What I need to know is how to run my virus scans with virex? And do I need any other progs like adaware or spybot? I sincerely apologise for the ignorance but any advice/suggestions would be very much appreciated and you all seem like a nice bunch so HELP!!

Thanks Charlotte x

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5, iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, 4th gen Apple TV
No Worries. Remember, there are no dumb questions, just dumb people, er, I mean, answers. j/k ;)

Since Windows runs exactly the same on a Mac as it does on native windows computers, the install and run of the programs is exactly the same. I've never used the programs you mentioned personally, so I can't comment on exactly how that is done.

Welcome to the forum!

Reaction score
Hi All,

I've just recently bought a Macbook and I'm lovin it!! I am however not very computer literate, luckily I'm a fast learner! What I need to know is how to run my virus scans with virex? And do I need any other progs like adaware or spybot? I sincerely apologise for the ignorance but any advice/suggestions would be very much appreciated and you all seem like a nice bunch so HELP!!

Thanks Charlotte x

You won't need those programs unless you plan to run Windows XP via either Parallels or Boot Camp. Win XP, although running on your Mac will still be vulnerable to exactly the same attacks PC's come under.

Otherwise all you really need to care about is keeping the ship running smoothly and there are several maintenance apps for free that you should consider:

OnyX [click link]
MainMenu [click link]
Maintenance [click link]

There are others and Mac even comes pre-installed with its own program which lives at: