Help - OSX Leopard has Bogged my 12" Powerbook

Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Machine: Powerbook G4 1Ghz, 1.25 RAM (maxed out).

I switched to leopard (did the archive and install method...should've erased...) and now my machine is ridiculously slow. It freezes. A lot. It shuts down without solicitation.

All I need the thing to do is to be able to run iTunes, Firefox and iPhoto and Word.

What is going on? What can I do?

iPhoto does not work (I have read it's not compatible with Leopard, since it's the one I ran with 10.3); any fix for this?

This machine should still work fine.

Any help is immensely appreciated. Thanks!
 
OP
R
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Don't wanna do that; I upgraded so my iPod Classic would work (classic does not work with 10.3 - again, thanks Apple).
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Do you have the original media that came with your Powerbook? If so I would suggest an Erase and Install of 10.5 and then use the media that contains iLife to install that after 10.5 installs. I am running 10.5.4 on an iBook 1.33Ghz G4 and it's fine. Everything works and it's not the latest iLife (iPhoto) either.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
1,229
Reaction score
75
Points
48
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM
Back up your data somewhere and do Erase and Install from the Leopard install disc.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
2,766
Reaction score
232
Points
63
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
Your machine should run Leopard fine, but it won't be as snappy as 10.3 or 10.4, that's just a reality I'm afraid.

Upgrade iPhoto if possible, iLife '08 is a pretty big step over the one that shipped with Panther. I do recommend the clean install as the others do too.
 
OP
R
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Ok, thanks everyone.

Does Leopard have an erase and install option when I do this, or is there a specific procedure to do so.

Thanks again.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top