Help me install Xilinx Vivado tool on Mac osx

Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I want to install Xilinx Vivado tool on my mac yosemite. I tried to use Winebottler. But it didn't work. Let me know other ways to install it. thank you.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You're never going to be able to get that to run using WINE or Wine Bottler. Even CrossOver would not be able to run it. You didn't give us any specs regarding which Mac you have, but you may be able to run Xilinx Vivado using Boot Camp.
 
OP
M
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hiello,

Thanks for your reply. I have macbook air 1.4 GHz Intel Core i5. What other options I've other than bootcamp? Will boot camp effect the performance of my mac?
 
C

chas_m

Guest
I would imagine that it would also run in a virtualizer like Parallels, Virtualbox, or VMWare Fusion. The only problem with any of these options is the amount of storage space required. If you have USB 3 or Thunderbolt on that MBA (and I believe you do) you can probably get away with putting the virtual environment file on an external drive (SSD would of course be best if you have to go this route) so that space isn't an issue, or upgrade the internal storage in that MBA so you have plenty, because Windows takes up a fair amount of space.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You have no other options to run Xilinx Vivado because it's a Windows program which requires at least Windows 7 and speedy graphics. Boot Camp will not effect the performance if your MacBook Air has enough drive space and memory. It's not difficult to setup a dual boot using Boot Camp, but your MacBook Air should have at least 4 GB of memory and a large enough flash drive to make a partition for Windows and still have room for OS X.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hello , I have the same issue here , MBA 1.4 GHZ with 128 storage .
Thank you for previous information , and if anybody has extra information plz reply

Thank you
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top