Help choosing my first Macbook (Canada, 1500$, software development)

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

this is my first post here, so please excuse me if this topic is not in the right section. I looked around and this seemed to be the best place to ask this.

I'm a software developer currently developing on Windows, at home. At work, I use an iMac and I fell in love with the OSX ecosystem, especially for web development. It's beautiful, simple and the Unix-based OS is a blessing when dealing with the Terminal, SSH and that sort of things. There are also a few Mac-specific apps that I use at work that I can't use at home, since I'm using Windows.

I'd like to purchase a Macbook. I looked at Apple's website and found three versions : the "Macbook", the "Macbook Air" and the "Macbook Pro".

Here are my requirements :

- 13" screen, with Retina Display
- HDMI port
- Around 1500$ (CAD, since I live in Canada)

The only one that fit all three criterias is the Macbook Pro, with the specs shown here :

f2fd7d37f2bd31efe0ddc448a2fe1e62.png

There's also the "Macbook", non-pro, but it doesn't have an HDMI port. I presume that there's some sort of adapter to get one, but I don't know why I should pay more if the Macbook Pro has one by default.

Is this a good option, the best option considering my above criterias? It would be really awesome to get some feedback from developers or artist who use their Macbook in a similar way, and who own the model above or a slight variation of it.

Is there anything I'm overlooking, does the Macbook (non-pro) have more advantages than the Pro, and should I get that one instead? From what I see the main different is that it's slimmer and has a weaker CPU, but the size is really not a concern for me since I'll be using it at home most of the time, and it will be plugged in almost always.

Any feedback or advice for a new buyer would be extremely appreciated. :)

Thank you all for your help.

Rod

Reaction score