• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

hard drive errors in Disk utility.? APFS issues?

Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
I had difficulty getting my macOS hard drive to boot.... I booted from the backup drive, I ran disk utility and it said all is ok, after finding some errors and "warning: found physical extent corruption but repairs are disabled"?? the disk appears to be ok. with a green check mark.

how are repairs disabled? I ran tech tool pro and it's not finding any issues...

never had all these issues showing in Disk utility until I installed Mojave and it's converted the hard drive to APFS... not sure whats going on or if I need to do something or worry about it? lol
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Points
8
If you haven’t done so BACK IT UP NOW!!! to an external drive.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,009
Reaction score
131
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
There are sections of the boot drive that cannot be repaired because you are booted from it. Boot either from an external drive with the OS on it, or the Recovery Partition. Hold down Option while booting until the options appear. If there are no options, you will have to create a bootable drive.

About macOS Recovery - Apple Support
 

Rod


Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
175
Points
63
Location
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2015 MacBook Pro Retina 13" macOSX 10.15.1
If you were running High Sierra prior to your upgrade to Mojave you should have been running APFS already unless you opted not to convert in the installation process.
I personally performed a clean install of Mojave, that is I erased my HD installed Mojave and restored all of my data from a cloned backup.
I do not do this at updates or indeed every upgrade but it would most likely fix your problem if you wanted to go that way.
I cannot claim to fully understand the error messages you have from Disk Utility so I cannot say if they are serious enough to warrant a reinstal. Perhaps someone else can chip in with some advice on this.



Sent from my iPad using Mac-Forums
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
7,809
Reaction score
138
Points
63
Location
13th state, U.S.A.
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2014 Mac Mini macOS 10.15, iPhone 11 iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13
Do you know if your startup drive is an HDD or SSD?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
hdd drive, mechanical. it was not APFS until the Mojave install then it converted to APFS just did it without asking me. This mac is not even 3 years old yet so I hope the HD is not going bad. I may boot from the recovery OS and run disk utility from there. I never got any errors in DU with high sierra.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
My recovery partition has high sierra on it, not Mojave. I'm tempted to go back. I had no issues with High Sierra.

Ive booted from my backup drive now. its also showing similar errors in disk utility. I keep getting this screen when trying to boot from main drive.

not sure how to fix this? should I install high sierra from the recovery partition? will my data be lost? I have a backup of the data.

what to do? I need to get my main drive booting again...
 

Attachments

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,421
Reaction score
752
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
When upgrading to Mojave, (if you didn't do a clean install) the Recovery partition will not be updated. However, that's easily overcome by running Carbon Copy Cloner which will create one for you.

As for the kernel panic you're getting, it's probably because you're trying to boot with a backup that's formatted to HFS+ and your hard drive is now formatted to APFS. No can do.

Run Carbon Copy Cloner and let it create a Recovery partition for you and then afterward you can use disk utility normally. Do not try to go back to High Sierra.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
thanks chscag. :) ive booted in carbon copy cloner from my backup drive. how do I create the recovery partition? Im not seeing any menu item to do that.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,421
Reaction score
752
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
You need to make a backup clone of Mojave using CCC and it will offer to create a Recovery partition for you. Using your backup drive is not going to work. ;)
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
Im booted from the backup with Mojave on it. internal HD wont boot. well it booted shortly in safe mode then it went out. so the backup is booted. so you're saying run CCC and backup the bad drive to the external that is working?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
CCC is warning me im booted from the destination drive.

- - - Updated - - -

going to bed now. I'll deal with this in the morning. any help appreciated.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,421
Reaction score
752
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
Read my PM to you and you can try that tomorrow when you get back on the machine.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
here is what chscag said in a PM. trying this first and going from there.... posting here for the sake of maybe helping others...


"you have a problem if you can't boot your internal hard drive. You need to fix that first before worrying about a Recovery partition. Okay, do this:

Try cloning your backup of Mojave to your internal hard drive and then see if the internal hard drive will boot. We can go from there"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
chscag, it worked. main internal Hard drive boots now... I ran disk utility which locked up, soon as it finished the computer rebooted, then another time after a few minutes.... something is still wrong... how do I find out what? thanks for your help appreciate it!

I have tech tool pro 12... some parts of that I cant run its not compatible with APFS... wonder if tech tool caused all of this? :Confused:

per one article I found, I booted with command opt P R to reset the parameter ram... so far its stopped the rebooting issue...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,009
Reaction score
131
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
The version of DU you are running has to be the one on Mojave, not the High Sierra one. The older one doesn't have any capability with APFS, so it may well throw strange errors and try to "repair" the APFS drive inappropriately. The Mojave version of DU is capable of looking at APFS drives.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4k iMac. Catalina. 8GB RAM
booted from recovery partition and ran disk utility on Apple HDD (the internal hard drive), and all seems fine. no errors and it finished in seconds. little confused, I ran it by selecting Apple HDD... not the Imac HD under container disc one (Imac HD is the name of my hard drive)... not even sure why it says container disc one? its booted now and seems to be working, no reboots so far... .

it seems to be the iMac HD in container disk one that was making the errors?..... no errors were found when scanning Apple HDD... ? Im confused for sure. :[
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
7,809
Reaction score
138
Points
63
Location
13th state, U.S.A.
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2014 Mac Mini macOS 10.15, iPhone 11 iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13
Run First Aid on each option under Apple HDD? The OS partition will take longer than a few seconds.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,009
Reaction score
131
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
Under AFPS what was known as partitions have been changed to Containers and Volumes. From your image, you have two Containers or two partitions at the hardware level; one named eDrive and the other Container disk1. In Container disk1 is one Volume, named iMac HD. The idea about Volumes is that all volumes in a Container share the space in the Container, so if you want a second drive, you can create a new volume without having to partition the drive. The two volumes then share whatever space is available in the Container automatically, again avoiding the necessity of invoking partitioning to change volume sizes. Overall, that function, combined with the efficiencies of APFS on SSDs, makes APFS a huge step forward. It doesn't work as efficiently on spinner drives, but it still has the advantages of not having to work with partitioning to make drive changes.

Here is what it looks like on my SSD: video glitch 3.jpg
 
Top