Graphics card questions

Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
I'm thinking of upgrading my mac to 4 gig (6 gig if the April 2008 model can hold it) and getting a better graphics card, which is better, the Nvidia GeForce 9400m or the best ATI Radeon HD card (what is the best ATI Radeon HD card) I'd use the graphics performance for Gaming and I want the visual settings to be at their highest. So simple, whats better for 3D Gaming Nvidia Geforce 9400m or the best ATI Radeon HD?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
5,658
Reaction score
159
Points
63
Location
*Brisvegas*
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
I think you'd be good to read this topic where I asked basically the same question.
http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/192242-nvidia-geforce-9400m-question.html
But I'll summarise it for you.

Nvidia GeForce 9400m = Graphics card which shares memory wirh main memory. Great for most tasks. But does not render 3D well at all. So stuff like 3D games it will not do so well. Mind you I'm talking the best of 3D games.

ATI Radeon HD 4670 = Graphics card with it's own memory and does not share with the main memory. Can render 3D very well. Good for cutting edge 3D games. And the optional better ATI card is the same only a little better.

Which one to get? The first one unless you want to play a lot of 3D games and 3D video editing. In that case get the dedicated graphcs card (The ATI)
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
what about the ATI Radeon HD 5970? is that better than the 4670 for 3D gaming, and what's with sharing memory?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Unless you intend on buying a new Mac with the desired graphics card you mentioned, there is no way possible to upgrade your current iMac. An iMac is actually a large notebook computer built vertically and can not be upgraded other than the hard drive and memory.

The graphics chipset is integrated within the main board (logic board) and is actually surface mounted to it. Even though the GPU in your iMac uses discrete memory separate from system memory, there is no way to change it out for a newer and better chipset.

Regards.
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
My graphics card isn't integrated, mines the April 2008 Model, all the ones after that are integrated (I think)
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
My graphics card isn't integrated, mines the April 2008 Model, all the ones after that are integrated (I think)

All the models before it as well!

- Nick
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
Is the ATI Radeon HD 5970 compatible with the 2008 intel aluminum iMac (8,1)
If not, where can I get some reliable drivers for it to work with my mac.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
My graphics card isn't integrated, mines the April 2008 Model, all the ones after that are integrated (I think)

I don't think you understood what I wrote to you, so let me be more clear:

Your graphics chipset is integrated within the main logic board. In other words it's not a separate entity or circuit card. By integrated, it means it's soldered to the board - as I mentioned to you before - surface mounted. Therefore, there is no way to change it out to a newer graphics chipset.

Yes, your graphics chipset has its own memory and does not use memory from the main system memory, however, it's still soldered down to the main board. In other words, what you have is what you have unless you purchase another machine.

The only Intel Mac that can accept a new graphics card is the Mac Pro.

Regards.
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
man thats tight, the shop owner said the graphics card wasn't integrated, little...
Can you order any 27" iMacs with an ATI Radeon 5970 in it?
 
Joined
May 20, 2009
Messages
264
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Selkirk, Manitoba
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air 13" , 21.5" iMac i5, White iPhone 4s 32gig, iPad 3 white 16 gig, i5 Mac Mini
No. Go to apples website and customize one, you'll find you won't get that graphics card in it. 4850 is what you get.
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
:( man the 4850 is good, but I want more power(5970), I probably wont get a new iMac till the make one with a graphics card which I can swap.
 
Joined
May 20, 2009
Messages
264
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Selkirk, Manitoba
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air 13" , 21.5" iMac i5, White iPhone 4s 32gig, iPad 3 white 16 gig, i5 Mac Mini
I doubt you'll ever be able to swap out a video card in an imac. as said previously, an imac is a laptop built vertically with a big screen. all the parts inside are mobile parts. If you want inter-changability you need a mac pro not an imac.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
If what you want is a top notch gaming rig, I'd suggest you quit looking at Macs to begin with and build your own Windows system like the rest of us.
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
what do you mean by "Build your own" I know about hardware in comps but not allot.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I mean buy a case, motherboard, RAM, video card, sound card (if you need better than the integrated one), hard drive, power supply, optical drive or two, a copy of Windows and build your own rig to the specifications you want.

That $3.5k - $4k Alienware rig you've been drooling over can be built for about $2k if you do it yourself.
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
do the 27" have the 4850 standard? and how long would it last playing these games with high visual settings

Battlefield 2142

Fable

COD4

Quake 4

Enemy Territory: Quake wars

Bioshock

Toca Race Driver 3
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
I mean buy a case, motherboard, RAM, video card, sound card (if you need better than the integrated one), hard drive, power supply, optical drive or two, a copy of Windows and build your own rig to the specifications you want.

That $3.5k - $4k Alienware rig you've been drooling over can be built for about $2k if you do it yourself.
Sounds cool, although I'm only 14 and this sounds pretty complex, and PC's are venerable to viruses so I wouldn't do to well with that since my first comp was an Imac g3 (the blue 1 that looks like half the emac) so I could keep this mac but use that one for gaming, sounds good. Do you know places where I can get the recourses for this in Australia
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I probably wont get a new iMac till the make one with a graphics card which I can swap.

Good luck waiting! The first iMac was released in 1998...and to the best of my knowledge...no iMac in the last 12 years had a user swappable video card.

Not to say it won't ever happen...but if I was a gambling person...I wouldn't bet that it's going to happen anytime soon!

- Nick
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
I'll probably just get a 27" 2.8 quad imac (ATI Radeon HD 4850 come standard, 512 mb memory) I'm getting a ps2 slim soon, for games like NFSU2, GTA SA, GTA 3, GTA VC (Not stories) MC3 Dub Remix ect ect.

Also, how long would an ATI Radeon HD 4850 Last running the games I listed above (+ NFS Carbon) on High Visual Settings? And how fast and smooth would it run as well?
 
OP
Mercedes1787
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Melbourne/Victoria/Austalia
*BUMP* how long would the ATI Radeon HD 4850 last playing games on high visual settings, I'm gonna wait for the next iMac, if they don't include something like an ATI Radeon HD 5970, I'd probably wait till next year, get a job (ill be 15 then) and save for a Mac pro, its tough though cause I wanna make a powerful one, but it gets to expensive.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top