G4 Cube CPU Upgrade

Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Messages
116
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
2008 Mac Pro 3,1: 3.2Ghz octo
I would like to upgrade my G4 cube's single 450MHz CPU for little or no money I have several powermacs including one 500MHz and a dual 450MHz G4 sawtooth would any powermac G4 Cpu transfer to the cube?

Thanks,
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I would like to upgrade my G4 cube's single 450MHz CPU for little or no money I have several powermacs including one 500MHz and a dual 450MHz G4 sawtooth would any powermac G4 Cpu transfer to the cube?

Thanks,

Nope can't do it. Mac Cube's did have cpu upgrades...but they're on a special Mac Cube "daughter card":

G4 Processor upgrades for all Apple G4 Cube Models

Because of the shape of the Mac Cube (and the way everything is "packed" in there)...everything for the Mac Cube is special (not compatible with other Mac computers).

And if you're looking to do this upgrade for little or no money...forgetaboutit...upgrading old Mac's (and many newer Mac's)...is almost never cheap!;)

- Nick
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
201
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
Seattle, WA
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP - Mid 2012 - i7 / iPad Air / iPhone 5s / ATV3
As the owner of a heavily upgraded PowerMac G4, I have to say that while it's a fun project, it's nowhere near worth the cost. After it was all said and done, I could have bought a used Intel Mac Mini for the price of all the upgrades and would have had a more powerful system as well.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top