G4 800MHz updated to OS X 10.5.8, Apple Cinema Display 20" not working

Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
G4 800MHz ppc on os x 10.5.8, macbookpro 15" retina on OS X 10.9.5
Hello there.
I just got my old G4 back to work and updated it to 10.5.8, since this seems to be the latest os x still working with non-intel mac´s. I own an apple cinema display with the old ADC-connection. Now, when i boot the mac, the white apple logo is showing up on startup, but after that, the screen remains black and the brightness touchbutton does not seem to do anything anymore. The Graphic-card is a Rage128Pro with vga and adc ports. The vga port is working just fine if i use an Asus somethingsomething monitor with it. I already tried to change the brightness with F1+F2 keys with no result. Does anyone have an idea? would be great.

Thanks
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Technically speaking…in order to install OS 10.5 on any Mac computer…it's supposed to have a minimum of an 867mhz CPU. If your G4 has an 800mhz CPU…then it does not meet the minimum specs for 10.5. And with only an 800mhz CPU…I'm not sure how you got 10.5 installed.

- Nick
 
OP
F
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Your Mac's Specs
G4 800MHz ppc on os x 10.5.8, macbookpro 15" retina on OS X 10.9.5
true, the machine has indeed 867MHz, sorry.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
true, the machine has indeed 867MHz, sorry.

Ok that makes more sense.:)

As far as the Cinema Display with the ADC connector. It does seem that the monitor is working (at first) when you see the Apple logo. Seems to me the problem would be either:

- Software related. Which would seem to point to the OS install.
- Hardware related. Something wrong with the video card.

* Nick
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,626
Reaction score
1,628
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
Which G4 model is involved? As if I can remember and even help with your problem… ;)

I also had a old 17" Apple cinema display that was used with several Mac models, and as I recall the connections and actual working setup was like working with the voodoo of SCSI.

I don't remember all the variables, but maybe this Apple kb article will help:
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT1825
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top