fstab and duplicate partitions

K

katatak

Guest
I'm having problems with the partitions on my 80 GB Seagate hard drive. I have made 4 partitions. The machine is a beige G3 Mini-tower so by default the first partition is under 8GB. Suddenly (I don't know when this happened) I have dupllicates of each partition except the OS partition. This is making the Jaguar unstable. From the Finder, things seem to be OK, however

ls
ls /Volumes
Backup Backup 1 Sandbox Sandbox 1 Whitestar9 Whitestar9 1
and

df
Filesystem 512-blocks Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s6 15727168 10802640 4767264 69% /
devfs 186 186 0 100% /dev
fdesc 2 2 0 100% /dev
<volfs> 1024 1024 0 100% /.vol
/dev/disk0s7 15727168 9384784 6342384 59% /Volumes/Whitestar9 1
/dev/disk0s8 20969696 3796248 17173448 18% /Volumes/Backup 1
/dev/disk0s9 103862080 80703232 23158848 77% /Volumes/Sandbox 1
automount -fstab [513] 0 0 0 100% /Network/Servers
automount -static [513] 0 0 0 100% /automount


My Files are now in Sandbox 1 instead of Sandbox and in Backup 1 instead of Backup.

How can I correct this problem?

Thanks for any help!
 

rman


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
12,625
Reaction score
168
Points
63
Location
Los Angeles, California
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
Here is what I would do. Bring your system down to single user mode. Then unmount all filesystems. Looking at your fstab you should only have the root partition mounted (/). Now I would save a copy of the fstab file, then I would edit the fstab file and restore everything to the correct mounts. The next thing I would do is rename the old mount points, the one with the 1s in them. Then the next step is to bring you system but up to multiple user mode. Since I am more comfortable with IRIX and AIX, just reboot the system, If all goes will you should have your correct mounts again. If so you can remove the backup copy of the fstab and directories or folders.

Now for the disclaimer, I have a good working knowkedge of IRIX, Solaris, SunOS, AIX and HP-UX. I am just starting to get a feel for Mac OS X. So if you try this beware. I know it would work with any of the above favorites of Unix.
 

rman


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
12,625
Reaction score
168
Points
63
Location
Los Angeles, California
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
Side note, I am assuming that you are comfortable in working with Unix at the command line.

To get your system to single user mode. Reboot your system or boot your system and press command (Apple key) s. I believe that will getyou into single user.
 
OP
K

katatak

Guest
rman said:
Side note, I am assuming that you are comfortable in working with Unix at the command line.

To get your system to single user mode. Reboot your system or boot your system and press command (Apple key) s. I believe that will getyou into single user.

Another follow up question: why do I have multiple fstab files?
ls fstab* tells me this:

/etc/fstab.hd /etc/fstab.rd /etc/fstab.sd
 

rman


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
12,625
Reaction score
168
Points
63
Location
Los Angeles, California
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
You can do a man fstab. Hopefully that will tell what each of those fstab files are used for. I will have to look at mine and see.
 
OP
K

katatak

Guest
A post on Mac OS Hints complains bitterly that Apple hasn't updated the man file for fstab to include fstab.rd, fstab.sd or fstab.hd.

Also they aren't there in Panther... Contents of fstab.hd:
"IGNORE THIS FILE.
This file does nothing, contains no useful data, and might go away in
future releases. Do not depend on this file or its contents."
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
2,860
Reaction score
21
Points
38
Location
Miami FL
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
I get pages of manual info on fstab - anyone want it that can't seem to get it post again and I will post it ;)
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top