Firewire audio issues Mac + Motu

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac pro (2008) 2 x quad core 2.8ghz, 24Gb RAM OSX 10.10.5
Hi folks,
My first post here, so please be gentle ;)

I am a musician, I run Logic X on a 2008 8 core mac pro with 24Gb RAM.

I have used this system since new in conjunction with a motu 828 mkII interface and have always found it to be a reliable set up.
A few months back I started to, intermittently, get some dreadful popping and crackling noises along with a big drop in sound quality. (This problem only occurred
when using the two front panel xlr inputs.
I did all the usual things to check all my wiring, leads and connections but the problem continued. I took my collection of mics to a friends studio and checked
that they all worked correctly. Having established that the mics were ok i started to entertain the possibility that my interface was on its last legs. I bit the bullet
and bought a new focusrite saffire pro 24 only to find that the problem has not gone away. So to my question; Is it possible that the firewire bus on my mac is causing this and if so
is there a chance this could be rectified by installing a pci firewire card in my mac to use instead of the built in ports.
I know my mac is getting a bit long in the tooth but a replacement is out of the question at the moment so any advice or thoughts on this would be gratefully received.

Thanks guys

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the forums.

You are not going to get an answer without providing information. We have no idea which Mac you have (year and model) or what version of OS X it's running?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013) - 2.4GHz - 256GB - 8GB DDR3L