Finder Question...

Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
194
Reaction score
12
Points
18
Location
Lancaster PA
Your Mac's Specs
G3 iMac 400Mhz, 512Mb RAM,10GB HDD
I was looking at screen shots of OSX, and I'm wondering about having that little finder icon near my clock... Would 10.3.9 be able to do that?
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,038
Reaction score
810
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Are you referring to the little magnifying glass icon in the upper right corner, surrounded by a blue circle? If so, that's Spotlight, which I believe was one of the new features for Tiger (10.4.x).
 
OP
IceCreamMan
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
194
Reaction score
12
Points
18
Location
Lancaster PA
Your Mac's Specs
G3 iMac 400Mhz, 512Mb RAM,10GB HDD
Yes, I am. That's a bummer though... I'm afraid to upgrade this to 10.4, it's running so nice now...
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,038
Reaction score
810
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Yes, I am. That's a bummer though... I'm afraid to upgrade this to 10.4, it's running so nice now...

I think you'd be OK going over to Tiger. I've heard it said that each new release of OS X (given enough RAM) has yielded better performance. I can't say for sure, however, since my MBP is my first Mac since an old IIsi, running OS 8.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2004
Messages
1,964
Reaction score
174
Points
63
I have a 350-gigahertz G3 tower that a relative used for three years or so. He received it with OS 9 and Panther, and trashed 9.

It's no world-beater running X, but it runs surprisingly well. Then he upgraded it to Tiger, and it ran even faster. The speed increase was easy to see. Tiger probably is better optimized than Panther.

I got the G3 back not long ago when he bought a MacBook. I'm thinking of putting 9 back in it and networking it to my G4 so I can pull 9 off this one.

Leopard might run faster yet on the old G3, if support isn't dropped. It would be interesting to find out.
 
OP
IceCreamMan
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
194
Reaction score
12
Points
18
Location
Lancaster PA
Your Mac's Specs
G3 iMac 400Mhz, 512Mb RAM,10GB HDD
Maybe if I had the install media... 350GIGAhertz? WOW! I only have 400MEGAhertz... :p:
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
That was a misprint. He has a 350Mhz G3 Tower. :spook:

I have that same machine here. Runs Tiger more than acceptable.
 
OP
IceCreamMan
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
194
Reaction score
12
Points
18
Location
Lancaster PA
Your Mac's Specs
G3 iMac 400Mhz, 512Mb RAM,10GB HDD
Yea, I'd love to have a 350gigahertz G3 iMac! :p: So there's no other way to get it? So could you honestly say that 10.4 would run smoother on my G3?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
It should. iI went from Panther 10.3.9 to Tiger on my G3 350Mhz B&W and it's nice. Seems a bit smoother.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top