Family Tree Maker

Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I just installed Yosemite on my Macbook and now my Family Tree Maker doesn't work. Anyone else having trouble like this?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
We need more information: What version of OS X were you running before updating to Yosemite and which version of Family Tree Maker are you using? I checked the Family Tree Maker web site and they say nothing about Yosemite.

However, I copied this from the Family Tree Maker forums:

Thank you for the information. Although Family Tree Maker is not currently compatible with Yosemite, our developers are working to make sure that it will be.

Thanks,

Karlie B.
Community Moderator
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
164
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Western NY
Your Mac's Specs
late 2011 mac Mini, 2.3 GHz core i5, 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3, Sierra, Retina display iPad, Iphone 5S
I use Family Tree Maker version 6.2.15 on Yosemite and it seems to function with no problems. What specifically is not functioning?

Bill
 
OP
F
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Thank you for your replies. None of the "buttons" on my FTM work. Since posting this, I've learned that many other FTM users are having the same issues, but that the software developer is working to make FTM compatible with Yosemite. Again, thanks for your replies..
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
792
Reaction score
4
Points
18
i would try to reinstall the software i found that after upgrading to yosemite if you reinstall the application it will function correctly again
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The problem John is trying to reinstall software that's not compatible with Yosemite may make it impossible to reinstall. We found that out with Office 2008 with Lion. It wasn't until MS issued an update that the 2008 installer worked. Previously, it looked for Rosetta.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
792
Reaction score
4
Points
18
weird family tree maker isn't a powerpc app it's a intel it should still install and run no matter what
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top