Downgrading OSX NEED HELP PLEASE!!!

Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
So im newly into mac.

New 8 core.

I need to downgrade from Snow Leopard to Leopard 10.5

I am having a ton of issues with my Pro Tools LE rig, and all my virtual instruments.

I need to downgrade.

I have the Leopard disk, however when i try to boot from disk It just hangs on white screen forever and I am forced to shut down by way of holding the power button! I also tried to boot from the Snow Leopard disk, format, and then load the leopard disk...still freezes. I dont know what to do, its really frustrating trying to instal X amount of dollars worthe of software that i can no longer use!!!

Please help! i will be in your debt!

:) thanks guys/gals!
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Welcome to Mac Forums.
Did the Leopard discs come with your computer?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Yep... if it's the grey coloured disc, they are machine specific, and will not work on your Mac.
You need the retail version, which you can pick up by ringing Apple/Spare parts or ebay... but will cost a pretty pennie.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Apple since way back when has a minimum version of the OS that will install. Anything before that will not install. That is what I have seen over the years. What is the exact model 8-Core Mac? What are the specs?
 
OP
P
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 8
L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
L3 Cache (per processor): 8 MB
Memory: 8 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 5.86 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
17,664
Reaction score
1,121
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
MacTracker says, unless I misread something, that the earliest OS for that Mac is 10.5.8. Are there any scratches on the disc?
 
OP
P
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
MacTracker says, unless I misread something, that the earliest OS for that Mac is 10.5.8. Are there any scratches on the disc?

its sais 10.5 on the disc...no scratches!

could it be that i have usb, and firewire connected while trying to boot from disc? maybe even my bluetooth mouse?
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
If sly is right on his findings (which I am sure he is) I have a feeling your 10.5 is not 10.5.8 but an older 10.5 install DVD.

In my searching around I found the same basic thing Sly did.

I remember my first generation 1.25Ghz Mac Mini would not even boot from an older 10.3 CD and it had to be 10.3.5.
 
OP
P
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
If sly is right on his findings (which I am sure he is) I have a feeling your 10.5 is not 10.5.8 but an older 10.5 install DVD.

In my searching around I found the same basic thing Sly did.

I remember my first generation 1.25Ghz Mac Mini would not even boot from an older 10.3 CD and it had to be 10.3.5.


man thats really draining!! So if i were to get the 10.5.8 disc

what would the process for install be?

boot from disc..
format drive..
install osx 10.5.8?
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
17,664
Reaction score
1,121
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
I think you might have hit on something dTravis. If that disc isn't 10.5.8 it won't work.

@ PhoenixBlack Look carefully at the fine print on the disc that you have. If I remember correctly it will say which version of 10.5 is on the disc. I think it is just below the OS X logo but I could be wrong.

With the right disc the process is pretty simple. Boot from the disc and follow the instructions. Before you buy another disc though please clarify something from your original post. I know you cannot boot from 10.5 but are you also now having trouble booting from the 10.6 disc? If so something else is stopping things.
 
OP
P
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I think you might have hit on something dTravis. If that disc isn't 10.5.8 it won't work.

@ PhoenixBlack Look carefully at the fine print on the disc that you have. If I remember correctly it will say which version of 10.5 is on the disc. I think it is just below the OS X logo but I could be wrong.



yup 10.5! ****!

you guys are sooo helpful!!!!!!

cant tell you how much i appreciate it guys/gals! for real!

thanks!!
 
OP
P
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
now what if i were to download 10.5.8 and burn a disc image?

or should i just get the disc from apple and get it over with?
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
17,664
Reaction score
1,121
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Downloading 10.5.8 probably won't work. Those "point updates" usually contain only the code to install on a system that already has a previous version installed. You would need to already have some version of 10.5 installed.

If you can get hold of a disc that was pressed not to long before Snow Leopard was released it would contain 10.5.8. What usually happens is once an update is released subsequent discs contain that version. There probably are 10.5.8 discs around but I would sure ask the vendor before forking over any hard earned dough.
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
17,664
Reaction score
1,121
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
I stand corrected it is indeed 10.5.6 as the minimum version. Sorry guys misread the specs.

@dtravis it appears you expression of confidence was misplaced this time. lol. I shall endeavor to do better.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
1. You can't legally download 10.5.8 disc image, and chances are it wouldn't work anyway.

2. IIRC the last version of Leopard that was sold as a retail disc was 10.5.8, but your odds of finding that *particular* release version are pretty slim.

Logic suggests that it will be easier for you to upgrade your Pro Tools setup.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Can't hurt to ring Apple's online number, ask to be put through to spare parts, and suss out if they have any copies left!
I called recently and got an affirmative from them.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top