Does my situation justifies an upgrade

Reaction score
Hi,
So about 2.5 years I ago I purchased the 13inch 2017 MacBook Pro base model without a Touch Bar.
While the experience has been good, there were glaring flaws that were present in everyday use:

—The abominable butterfly switch keyboard would sometimes requiere more force due to dust.
—Heating issue
—sometimes slow performance while using basic applications like Safari.
—Battery was overall underwhelming coming from a MacBook Air.

My battery seems to be enjoying its last cycles and I'm in need of a replacement. Also I'm almost out of internal storage is in use (128gb). However, now that the new M1 MacBooks are out, and given that it seems to solve all of the aforementioned issues and appears to be really future proof, I'm really tempted to get the Air.

Should I replace my Pro's battery and keep it going, or just go for the M1 Air?

P.S
I'm a literature student and requiere very little out of my machine.The most intensive app I use is Zoom, which hopefully will be unnecessary in a few months.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to our forums.

Sorry for the late reply, just came across your post.

Your MacBook Pro with the infamous butterfly keyboard is covered by a special Apple warranty for 4 years from your date of purchase. (The warranty is for the keyboard only.) However if the battery needs replacement and you're running out of drive space, it may be time to think about a new machine.

The M1 MacBook Air is a new machine and the first of its kind. There are growing problems with that entire line of new M1 machines. It's up to you of course, but my opinion is that I would wait until the second generation of the Apple new architecture machines are released.