Diablo 2 runs very slow on MacBook Air

Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I installed Diablo 2 on my MacBook Air a few months ago. Last week I decided to pick it up again, but the game is running extremely slow. It loads up well enough, but after about 3-4 minutes of play the game becomes unplayably slow/choppy. I don't recall having problems like this when I first installed Diablo II on my MBA. I've been playing single player, so internet connections aren't an issue.

Specs:

MacBook Air running OS X v10.5.8
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHz processor
2 GB memory
NVidia GeForce 9400M Graphics
256 MB VRAM

Not sure if I need anything else.

Does anyone know what the problem is?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I installed Diablo 2 on my MacBook Air a few months ago. Last week I decided to pick it up again, but the game is running extremely slow. It loads up well enough, but after about 3-4 minutes of play the game becomes unplayably slow/choppy. I don't recall having problems like this when I first installed Diablo II on my MBA. I've been playing single player, so internet connections aren't an issue.

Does anyone know what the problem is?

Was Diablo 2 running fine previously (few months) when you first installed it on your MBA?

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Yes, if I remember correctly.

Is it possible that the slowness issue is on the "Blizzard" server end of things...or even with your internet connection....and not with your MBA?

Sorry...nevermind...I saw you said in your initial post that you're playing single player...so no internet issues.

Two things to try:

- Have you restarted your computer recently?...sometimes that helps.
- Try repairing "permissions" in "Disk Utility".

- Nick
 
OP
C
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Also, if it helps, I was able to play Starcraft just fine one month ago. I don't know for sure that Diablo 2 was working last September, but I know Starcraft played smoothly.
 
OP
C
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Just saw your new post. I'm not playing on the internet, so I don't think that should be a problem.
 
OP
C
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Just tried restarting the computer, gave it some time to cool down. It seems to have helped quite a bit. I've been in the game for 10 minutes and it doesn't seem to be having problems yet.
 
OP
C
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Activity Monitor is showing around 50% usage now, where it was near 90% before. I'm not sure what was going wrong before, but the game is running smoothly now.

I'll post if the problem starts happening again. Thanks for the prompt advice, Nick.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Activity Monitor is showing around 50% usage now, where it was near 90% before. I'm not sure what was going wrong before, but the game is running smoothly now.

I'll post if the problem starts happening again. Thanks for the prompt advice, Nick.

Sounds like things are better. It's good to restart your computer every so often. Things get all "jumbled up" when you just put your computer to "sleep" all the time...so a restart occasionally helps.

Hopefully the game will run fine for a long time.:)

- Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top