Desktop Background Macintosh HD icon too big

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
3,627
Reaction score
100
Points
63
Location
Amberley, Canterbury, New Zealand
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
Guessing that the pic comes from iPhoto Library - or wherever you've set desktop background to gather pics - get the original, reduce its size, save the smaller version and see if that works. Trouble is, I think the OS expands the picture to fit the screen.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
To change the size of the icon, ctrl click (right click) on it, select Show View Options and adjust the slider to the size you want.
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
3,627
Reaction score
100
Points
63
Location
Amberley, Canterbury, New Zealand
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
Good pointer bobtomay, did the OP mean the HD icon or the background picture? I assumed the latter.

I seek clarification of your instructions (my OS is Tiger). Cmd-click does nothing. Ctrl-click (or R-click) however gives me several options for the HD icon, none of which is View Options.

From Desktop though, with just the HD icon OR no icons at all selected, I can access View Options and move the slider. It applies to ALL the icons on the desktop, I cannot apply it to just one item.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
481
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS
Also... click the Desktop anywhere. Command+J.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Good pointer bobtomay, did the OP mean the HD icon or the background picture? I assumed the latter.

I seek clarification of your instructions (my OS is Tiger). Cmd-click does nothing. Ctrl-click (or R-click) however gives me several options for the HD icon, none of which is View Options.

From Desktop though, with just the HD icon OR no icons at all selected, I can access View Options and move the slider. It applies to ALL the icons on the desktop, I cannot apply it to just one item.

Yep, my bad... ctrl click... and it can be done in SL after clicking on the desktop or highlighting an icon on the desktop to bring up the 'Show View Options'
 
OP
T
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Soory for the confusion. I meant the size of the Mac HD icon.

Just for refernece what is that standard size. I have set mine to 64 x 64. It was 100x100
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
8,428
Reaction score
295
Points
83
Location
Waiting for a mate . . .
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
yea 64 x 64 is default size .....
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top