Command and T is not working in any applications!?

Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I have checked to see if any other command is assigned to 'Command and T" but nothing appears and text to speech is switched off please help!
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,601
Reaction score
1,606
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
Knowing what OS X version and what application and what you're trying to do or accomplish would sure help. ;)
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,833
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
And Command + T opens a new Tab in Safari. The question about which app the member is using at the time would be helpful as pointed out by member pm-r.
 
OP
J
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Knowing what OS X version and what application and what you're trying to do or accomplish would sure help. ;)

of course sorry! i currently have version 10.7.5, about to update to Yosemite. I am trying to open a new tab in safari and chrome.
 
OP
J
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
on keyboard viewer under language and text in setting when the two buttons are pressed only the command button is highlighted not the T
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,833
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Command + T will open a new tab in Safari and Chrome. If it's not working on your Mac, check to see if you haven't assigned that combination to something else.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,833
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
on keyboard viewer under language and text in setting when the two buttons are pressed only the command button is highlighted not the T

Any recents spills on your keyboard? Water, coffee, tea, juice, etc. ?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,601
Reaction score
1,606
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
Any recents spills on your keyboard? Water, coffee, tea, juice, etc. ?


I'm sure there wouldn't be any problem if tea had been spilt as it's the T key that's not working. Sorry and groan… ;)
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,833
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Well, the keyboard viewer doesn't lie. If the "T" doesn't show up when pressed, then there's a problem either with the key itself or the keyboard. Check all your other keys with the viewer to make sure they're working.
 
OP
J
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Well, the keyboard viewer doesn't lie. If the "T" doesn't show up when pressed, then there's a problem either with the key itself or the keyboard. Check all your other keys with the viewer to make sure they're working.

the t only does not show up when pressed with the Command button
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,833
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
the t only does not show up when pressed with the Command button

OK, that's different. If the "T" is showing up by itself when pressed but not when combined with Command, then it's a software problem. It sounds like your keys may have been re-programmed. Open your keyboard from Preferences and click on the tab that says "modifier" keys. When that opens, click on "Restore Defaults".
 
OP
J
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
OK, that's different. If the "T" is showing up by itself when pressed but not when combined with Command, then it's a software problem. It sounds like your keys may have been re-programmed. Open your keyboard from Preferences and click on the tab that says "modifier" keys. When that opens, click on "Restore Defaults".

just tried this and still does not work
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,601
Reaction score
1,606
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
just tried this and still does not work


Did you restart your Mac after clicking the Restore Defaults??

I gather that clicking the Restore Defaults actually does restore all keyboard shortcuts including any custom made ones??

I'd double check anyway as it does seem to be a rather strange problem.

Or maybe try doing the opposite and create that specific shortcut and see if it will work.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top