• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

Carbon Copy Cloner help

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
414
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
California
Your Mac's Specs
2016 Macbook Pro 512g.15" 16g.ram Ipad2Air 64gb wifi+4g Iphone 6s 64gig
Okay after searching the forums I come to you for help. I am trying out CCC on a trial basis. And I have searched the help section. So what I need to know is, I cloned my hard drive to my external which already had my TM backups on it. Should I have created a partition first? Or should I wipe my external drive clean and start over? This all new to me. Thanks for any help.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,421
Reaction score
752
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
Yes, you should have partitioned the external drive. Carbon Copy Cloner will overwrite anything that's on the drive. I keep two external hard drives for that very purpose: One for CCC and the other for Time Machine. It doesn't make sense to use one hard drive for both if you wish to have redundancy with your backups. Lose the hard drive and you've lost both your backups. Keep them separate on two hard drives.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
414
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
California
Your Mac's Specs
2016 Macbook Pro 512g.15" 16g.ram Ipad2Air 64gb wifi+4g Iphone 6s 64gig
Of course, that makes sense. I have another external. I will erase and re-format. Thank you.
 
Top