can't access website

Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
125
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5",mid2011,2.5 GHz,12 GB mem,OSX 10.13.6; iPhone SE; MacBook Air,early2015,1.6 GHz,4GB
There is a website that I used to visit regularly. For the last month or so, whenever I try to go there, I get a message that Safari cannot find the server. I know the website is still active as it is discussed on another forum I am a member of. the website is www.robesonsrme.com.
thanks for any help
Dan
 
M

MacInWin

Guest
It doesn't respond to a ping. I did find a whois server that says it is a valid URL that expires next February, so I can't tell you why it's not responding.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
4,895
Reaction score
282
Points
83
Location
North Carolina
Your Mac's Specs
MBAir (2015) OS 12.3.1; iMac (2019) OS 12.3.1
There is a website that I used to visit regularly. For the last month or so, whenever I try to go there, I get a message that Safari cannot find the server. I know the website is still active as it is discussed on another forum I am a member of. the website is RobesonsRme.com.
thanks for any help

Hello Dan and welcome to the forum! :) Well, I went to the URL given in Safari on my MBPro and immediately entered the website (about knives) - you may want to go into the Safari drop-down menu (left upper menu bar) and 'Reset' the browser - you'll be presented w/ the dialog box attached - if all are left checked you'll need to re-enter a LOT of information regarding the sites you visit, so look @ the options, check the ones that might seem appropriate, and see if you can then enter the website.

Another option is to download a different browser, such as Chrome, and try to enter the website - should work fine - good luck and let us know your results. Dave

.

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 11.16.14 PM.png
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
15,162
Reaction score
602
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
The RobesonsRme.com site works for me. Mavericks 10.9.5 Safari 7.1.

" This site is dedicated to the collecting of information concerning the Robeson Cutlery Company of Rochester, NY, its history, workers, and most especially, the pocket cutlery they manufactured. "

Interesting too ... ;)
 
OP
D
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
125
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5",mid2011,2.5 GHz,12 GB mem,OSX 10.13.6; iPhone SE; MacBook Air,early2015,1.6 GHz,4GB
thanks for the advice guys. I am using Safari 6.1.6, and update whenever it says there is an update available. RadDave, I reset my browser, still no good, I get the same message. I am kind of stubborn and don't want a new browser. IT put chrome on my work laptop, and I don't really like it. If Safari works for everyone else to access the website, why can't it work on my computer, it used to?
Thanks
Dan
 
OP
D
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
125
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5",mid2011,2.5 GHz,12 GB mem,OSX 10.13.6; iPhone SE; MacBook Air,early2015,1.6 GHz,4GB
OK, I downloaded google chrome and tried to open the website from there. I got a message that the website was unavailable?
Dan
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
15,162
Reaction score
602
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
OK, I downloaded google chrome and tried to open the website from there. I got a message that the website was unavailable?
Dan


Hmmm... odd. Still working for me.

Try shutting down and startup using Safe Boot Mode, and try your browsers again and see if you connect once you've logged in.

Or try using another User account.
 
OP
D
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
125
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5",mid2011,2.5 GHz,12 GB mem,OSX 10.13.6; iPhone SE; MacBook Air,early2015,1.6 GHz,4GB
pm-r, thanks for trying to help me. I added the DNS domain "google-public-dns-a.google.com" and still no access to website. Safari gives me the message that "safari cannot find the domain robesonsrme.com"
I only have one user account on my computer. I am not really very computer literate, I don't have a clue how to start up in Safe Boot Mode?
Thanks
Dan
 
OP
D
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
125
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5",mid2011,2.5 GHz,12 GB mem,OSX 10.13.6; iPhone SE; MacBook Air,early2015,1.6 GHz,4GB
OK, i got it. Added DNS server 8.8.8.8 and now everything is working.
Thanks pm-r
Dan
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top