Can yosemite be installed on his Mac?

Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
1
OK. So now we have Yosemite. But I cannot figure out whether I can downloaded safely to my Mac or not because I am not clear on the requirements and would ask someone to please explain this to me. I would appreciate it a lot.

My Mac is just over 3 years old. I am running on v.10.9.6. its processor is a 2 GHz Intel Core i7 model and it has a 4GB 1333 MHz DDR3 memory.

Regards,

Emile
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Check on OS X.9.6 as it has yet to be released?

If this is the late 2011 2GHz MacBook Pro, it can handle up to 16GB memory and would suggest increase to 8GB for Yosemite. And you can download safely via the App Store assuming you have an Apple ID eunuch.
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
16,837
Reaction score
638
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 2008 MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone 12 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Big Sur
Technically Yosemite will run on 4 GB of ram but Harry's right 8 GB or more would be better.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
For anyone else asking, If your Mac will run Mavericks, it will run Yosemite!

I second at least 8GB Ram for either Mavericks or Yosemite!
 
OP
E
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I was afraid of that! Yosemite may be a free upgrade, but the extra memory will be expensive...for me, anyway.

Thanks much for your quick reply.

Emile
 

Rod


Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
8,024
Reaction score
766
Points
113
Location
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2015 MacBook Pro Retina 13" macOS 11.1, iPhone SE 2, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
I was afraid of that! Yosemite may be a free upgrade, but the extra memory will be expensive...for me, anyway.

Thanks much for your quick reply.

Emile

Take heart I'm running it on my MBP with 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 and it works fine. The bottom line is if you can run Mavericks you can run Yosemite. Having said that doubling your RAM will be a big improvement in performance but the same applies to Mavericks.
More RAM is better but if you were satisfied with your performance before there is no reason to wait.
You can just buy a single 4 Gb RAM memory module to replace one of the 2 Gb and increase to a total of 6 Gb with your old 2 Gb that cuts the cost and will give you a big improvement in performance.;)
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top