• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

can I upgrade the processor or something?

F

FSTP

Guest
I was wondering what it would entail making my processor faster or getting a new one without buying a new mac? can I simply get a newer processor and plug it in? I'm rather new to macs so I'm not to clear on how thier hardware works.
thanks,
Jess
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
629
Reaction score
25
Points
28
Location
Norfolk, VA, USA
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook: 2GHz, 2GB RAM, 120GB HD; PowerTower Pro (300MHz G3 clone): 608MB RAM, 10GB HD
FSTP said:
I was wondering what it would entail making my processor faster or getting a new one without buying a new mac? can I simply get a newer processor and plug it in? I'm rather new to macs so I'm not to clear on how thier hardware works.
thanks,
Jess
Also check www.macsales.com (other world computing). I think you can upgrade the processor as high as dual 1.4 Gig or so. The towers are pretty expandable. You may also want a newer video card depending on what you want to use your mac for.
 
F

FSTP

Guest
you guys are awesome. I was looking at these and it askes what kind of G4 I have. I have no idea, I just no its not green like ones in the pictures. Mine is silver grey and white, Do the cases give a clue to what kind it is?
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
1,779
Reaction score
65
Points
48
Location
Luxemburg, Europe
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G5 Dual 2GHz (June 2004), 2.5GB, Airport, black 5G iPod 30GB, white MacBook 2.0 2GB
FSTP said:
you guys are awesome. I was looking at these and it askes what kind of G4 I have. I have no idea, I just no its not green like ones in the pictures. Mine is silver grey and white, Do the cases give a clue to what kind it is?
The G4 733MHz was build in two case types:
The first G4 case (dark blue front and back, grey side panels with dark blue Apple logo on the sides) and the Quicksilver case (All grey, with dark grey Apple logo on the sides).
As far as I know, they both use the same bus speed, and thus can use the same CPU upgrades. The connector for the G4 daughterboard didn't change from the G4 AGP to the MDD, only the bus speed and location on the mainboard is different.

Check the link to see all different kinds of PowerMacs, including their specs and case designs:
http://www.lowendmac.com/ppc/index.shtml
 

trpnmonkey41


Retired Staff
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
6,999
Reaction score
187
Points
63
Location
Hamilton College
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
F

FSTP

Guest
Great!

So say I have about 300 bux what could I do and what would be the most bang for the buck type processor?
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
130
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Annapolis Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4 Sonnet 1.0 512 Ram 10.3.6
FSTP said:
I was wondering what it would entail making my processor faster or getting a new one without buying a new mac? can I simply get a newer processor and plug it in? I'm rather new to macs so I'm not to clear on how thier hardware works.
thanks,
Jess
Just to let you know Boss i did a processor upgrade and it was worth it. I mean my powermac rips now.
 
F

FSTP

Guest
New2Macs said:
Just to let you know Boss i did a processor upgrade and it was worth it. I mean my powermac rips now.

Awesome was it hard to install? which one did you get?
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
130
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Annapolis Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4 Sonnet 1.0 512 Ram 10.3.6
FSTP said:
Awesome was it hard to install? which one did you get?
Nope it wasnt hard at all to install. I got the Sonnet Upgradecard 1 Gig. It works great man. Just make sure that you purchase the correct one.
 
Top