Bought A Legal Copy Of Leopard For My MacBook And Still Need Help!!!!

Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
ok i just bought one off of amazon, and was wondering how to upgrade it? can anyone tell me instructions on how to install leopard on my tiger 10.4.2. thanks
 

cwa107


Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
27,042
Reaction score
812
Points
113
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Leopard (10.5) or Snow Leopard (10.6)?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Post your computers specs as well (most importantly what processor & the processor speed).

- Nick
 
OP
S
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I bought leopard

Here are my specs:

1.83 GHz
1 Gigs of Ram
120 Hard Drive
Intel Core 2 Duo
1 Processor
667 Mhz
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I bought leopard

Here are my specs:

1.83 GHz
1 Gigs of Ram
120 Hard Drive
Intel Core 2 Duo
1 Processor
667 Mhz

Yes those specs will be ok for Leopard. As far as the install...it's pretty simple. Just boot from the Leopard DVD, and follow the on screen instructions.

- Nick
 
C

chas_m

Guest
Hang on -- the OP didn't state whether he bought gray (useless, machine-specific) Leopard discs or black (retail copy) discs. If the former, that likely won't work and he should return them for a refund.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Dallas, but school in Arkansas
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.2 2GB
Why did you make such a huge point of saying that it is a legal copy? You sure you didn't download it? :)
 
OP
S
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Yes those specs will be ok for Leopard. As far as the install...it's pretty simple. Just boot from the Leopard DVD, and follow the on screen instructions.

- Nick

so once i have everything installed do i still need the disc on my computer every time or can i boot leopard without it?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
473
Reaction score
8
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13"
Once you have it installed, there will be no need to have the disc in as it will be on your hard drive.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
so once i have everything installed do i still need the disc on my computer every time or can i boot leopard without it?

"chas_m" above brought up a good point about the Leopard disk you purchased. Please verify if the disk is black with a big "X" on it...or if it is a grey colored disk.

If it's grey...the install may not work.

- Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top