boot camp off of external USB DVD drive.

Reaction score
Anyone know how to install windows on an early 2011 mbp through an external USB powered CD drive. I know this question has been asked many times but I have to say that not only is my situation very unique but ive scoured the internet only to find different methods that all lead to the same dismal result.

I wasent happy with the hard drive selection that apple had when I purchased my macbook (only 1month ago) and being that I find myself very handy with computers,hardware in particular. I took the liberty to go ahead and have a 128gig ssd as my boot up drive from apple. Then I took out my superdrive and bought a bracket that holds a standard 2.5inch drive and replaced my superdrive with a 1tb drive. Everything was going better than I expected the drive was recognized right away and everything was fine.

I come to school now and im studying to become an engineer and I will be using a lot of Cad programs, most of which only are windows compatible and very graphics intensive so I felt immediately that using a virtual machine was a last resort just based off of performance vs. bootcamp. So now I run into the dilemma that I need windows on my computer. first step was to just run bootcamp and just see how that goes.. when I got to the step of booting off the dvd the screen would just go and stay black. I looked everywhere and found rEFIt to be a solution...boy was I wrong. After trying rEFIt I booted from the windows disc and same thing..black screen of death.

So it seems that anything I do just leads up to the point where I need to boot off the windows disc and the same black screen comes up. I even tried 2 different windows discs.

This is my last resort before resorting to fusion or parallels.

if you need any more information on my system or setup whatsoever please dont hesitate to ask, I will be checking this site often in search for the answer to this problem

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score