Beware Monterey Time machine problems

jks

Reaction score
I have downloaded the last version of Monterey and it has backup problems.
I have been running beta for a few months and no problem. If you backup then your backup cannot be seen on the backup disk and you cannot use it to restore although disk utility shows there is something on the disk. I have been in touch with Apple and they agree that this may be a sofware issue and are looking at it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2021 iMac 24" M1 512/16/8/8 Sonoma. 2013 iMac 20.5" 3.1 i7 16GB Catalina. iPhone SE 3rd Gen
Monterey 12.01 here and Time Machine seems ok to me.

My back up disk is formatted APFS and the back ups show fine in Finder and also if I 'Enter' Time Machine.

Last edited:
Reaction score
I don't seem to have this problem but all the more reason to have a second backup scheme available. I use Carbon Copy Cloner in addition to Time Machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2021 iMac 24" M1 512/16/8/8 Sonoma. 2013 iMac 20.5" 3.1 i7 16GB Catalina. iPhone SE 3rd Gen
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rdGen, iPhone 13 ProMax, Watch S7, 2018 15" MBP, AirPods Pro
Are you still running the beta version of Monterey?

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
@jks

FWIW, here's my pennyworth.

Firstly, I assume you formatted the Time Machine External Hard Drive (EHD) APFS? That must be pretty certain as it's not supposed to work with anything else.

My second thought was that the TM backup was presumably used for macOS 11 Big Sur (BS) or whatever you had before Monterey beta, then continued to be used with Monterey beta and now Monterey proper - and if that is so and if you did not reformat between each upgrade, then it doesn't surprise me that the BU failed.

My advice is to wipe the TM BU and reformat it APFS and start a new backup.

Ian

OP
J

jks