Ati x1900xt

Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Stockholm
I am trying to retrofit a MacPro 2009, (4.1) single 2.66 quadcore Xeon running Snow Leopard, with an older ATI x1900XT 512mb GPU, originally residing in an older Mac Pro 1.1. 2x2.66 dual core.

It doesn't seem to work, when starting up, the fans speed up to max
and there's no display at all. Is there anything I'd need to modify, drivers,
firmware etc etc? Or change the OS back to Leopard?
Any help greatly appreciated,
thanx,
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I am trying to retrofit a MacPro 2009, (4.1) single 2.66 quadcore Xeon running Snow Leopard, with an older ATI x1900XT 512mb GPU, originally residing in an older Mac Pro 1.1. 2x2.66 dual core.

It doesn't seem to work, when starting up, the fans speed up to max
and there's no display at all. Is there anything I'd need to modify, drivers,
firmware etc etc? Or change the OS back to Leopard?
Any help greatly appreciated,
thanx,

Are you sure the X1900 is compatible with a 2009 Mac Pro? I haven't heard of anyone installing an X1900 in a 2009 Mac Pro.

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Stockholm
Yes, that's exactly what I'm trying to find out. It's definitely not working
now so maybe it's totally incompatible. Which would surprise me, the card isn't that old
and outdated. Probably a matter of firmware/drivers/OS.

Thanks anyway
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Yes, that's exactly what I'm trying to find out. It's definitely not working
now so maybe it's totally incompatible. Which would surprise me, the card isn't that old
and outdated. Probably a matter of firmware/drivers/OS.

Thanks anyway

The whole compatibility subject with Mac Pro's can be very confusing. As you probably know...the Mac Pro line is only 4 years old...and the video card compatibility across the models can be confusing.

Don't let the fact that the card is not that old lead you to believe that it is compatible with a 2009 Mac Pro. Apple is always changing things with each model release...so it's very possible the x1900 is not compatible with a 2009 Mac Pro.

It may be something firmware related...but I'm not aware of a firmware updater to make the x1900 compatible with a 2009 Mac Pro.

I have not heard of anyone else successfully installing an x1900 in a 2009 Mac Pro. Not to say it's not possible...I just haven't heard of anyone doing it.

By the way...I found this thread from a different forum (that may be yours as well)...and it looks like the info you're getting their is similar to what I'm saying.

Apple - Support - Discussions - ATI X1900XT in Mac Pro 2009 Quadcore? ...

Good luck,

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Stockholm

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Confusing is the word. Originally the card was designed for G5's, however this particular card was mounted and running in a Mac Pro dual 2.66. I think Apple shipped certain models with this GPU option. This link also shows that the card would work on newer models. My problems still remains, though. Can't figure out why....

NEW Mac Pro ATI Radeon x1900 XT 512MB PCIe Video Card - eBay (item 270517604045 end time Mar-19-10 14:03:40 PDT)

Believe it or not...when I was trying to find an answer to your question...I found that e-Bay auction link as well. But do you really believe everything you read in e-Bay auctions???

If x1900 video card compatibility across Mac Pro models was as straight-forward as that auction description would seem to imply...we would probably find more info on it on the internet.

You could always try contacting the seller in that auction...and see if they can explain why or how the x1900 is compatible with 2009 Mac Pros...maybe they really don't know & were just guessing. Or maybe they have actually installed an x1900 successfully in a 2009 Mac Pro.

BTW...I'm very familiar with the x1900 in a 2006 quad-core Mac Pro...it's the computer I'm using to post this message.;)

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Stockholm
Thanks Pigoo,
I was just thinkin of contacting the guy! Don't know if Apple support could help,
I'm gonna try with them as well.

If you play any Window's game with your X1900, would it work for the latest FPS-games, you think?

Cheers
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
If you play any Window's game with your X1900, would it work for the latest FPS-games, you think?

Cheers

I don't have Windows installed on my Mac Pro...sorry.

- Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top