Are SW releases from Apple throttled?

Reaction score
hi there folks,

Noob here and starting this thread to gather some info.
Moderators and admins - please merge / edit the thread if something already exists.

I recently found a pattern on SW releases from Apple where anything related to iOS major releases (13, 14, 15), we get these offshore and around the world on the same day (Globally). But minor .releases like (15.0.1, Apple lossless, 4A400 [latest Airpods FW updates]) are first throttled to the US/UK region and then later to other countries like where I'm from (India) with an unknown timeframe. Just trying to get confirmation if this really is the case or is it just me missing something?

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
This is case for all releases, major and minor. It's known as a rolling release. Apple is not going to unlock access to every device at the same time, that would be billions of devices wanting to update which would overwhelm the servers and lead to an overall bad experience.

By rolling out the releases over a period of days, the load is managed and everyone gets the experience they expect and get updates in a decent time frame.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
For those of us that remember back in the olden days, before Apple moved to internet downloads and away from CD's for major OS versions, they would release a new OS or update and their servers would overload. This was when someone at Apple had an epiphany and they started doing rolling releases. :eek:

Lisa

OP
A
Reaction score
This is case for all releases, major and minor. It's known as a rolling release. Apple is not going to unlock access to every device at the same time, that would be billions of devices wanting to update which would overwhelm the servers and lead to an overall bad experience.